Oakland Open, Former PGA Tour Golf Tournament

The Oakland Open was a golf tournament played on the PGA Tour for only seven years, but it played an important part in the early careers of Ben Hogan, Sam Snead and Jim Ferrier.

First played: 1937

Last played: 1944

The Oakland Open's first champion was Sam Snead, and Snead's winning score of 270 remained the tournament record. Although he had won once before on tour, in 1936, his victory here is what first made Snead nationally known in golf.

Another major winner, Jim Ferrier, got his first career PGA Tour win in this event in 1941. His second victory didn't happen for three years, but when it did it was the 1947 PGA Championship.

The Oakland Open was good to Ben Hogan even though he didn't win it. At a time when he was struggling to make ends meet and considering giving up playing the tour, Hogan finished sixth in the 1938 Oakland Open. In 1940, he was one of three runners-up to Jimmy Demaret. Hogan was second again in 1941, losing in a playoff won by Leonard Dodson.

In that 1941 Oakland Open, Hogan's scores included a 62 — just the second 62 scored in PGA Tour history. The first happened 18 years earlier.

There were two playoffs in Oakland Open history, and E.J. "Dutch" Harrison was a loser in both.

Winners of the Oakland Open Tournament

1937 — Sam Snead, 270
1938 — Harry Cooper, 275
1939 — Dick Metz, 274 (def. Dutch Harrison in playoff)
1940 — Jimmy Demaret, 281
1941 — Leonard Dodson, 276 (def. Dutch Harrison and Ben Hogan in playoff)
1942 — Byron Nelson, 274
1943 — No tournament
1944 — Jim Ferrier, 277

Golf course: The first tournament was played at Claremont Country Club in Oakland. Thereafter, the Oakland Open took place at Sequoyah Country Club.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List