Golfers With the Most Wins in Major Championships

Which golfers have won the most titles in the four major championships of men's professional golf? The list below includes all golfers with more than one major victory.

Jack Nicklaus leads the way with 18 major titles, with Tiger Woods second at 15 wins. The four major championships in men's pro golf are The Masters, U.S. Open, British Open and PGA Championship.

How many golfers have won more than one major, and how many have reached other milestone numbers? This is how it breaks down:

  • 84 golfers have won two or more majors.
  • 46 golfers have at least three major championship wins.
  • 19 golfers won five or more major championships.
  • And only three golfers have reached double digits — 10 major wins or more.
See also:

The List: Golfers With Most Major Wins

All golfers with at least two wins in men's major championships are listed here. ("Span" refers to the years during which the listed wins took place. The first year is the year of the golfer's first major win, the second year his last or most-recent senior win. If only one year is listed, all his major wins happened in that one year.)

GolfersMajors Span
Jack Nicklaus18 1962–1986
Tiger Woods15 1997–2019
Walter Hagen11 1914–1929
Ben Hogan9 1946–1953
Gary Player9 1959–1978
Tom Watson8 1975–1983
Bobby Jones7 1923–1930
Arnold Palmer7 1958–1964
Gene Sarazen7 1922–1935
Sam Snead7 1942–1954
Harry Vardon7 1896–1914
Nick Faldo6 1987–1996
Phil Mickelson6 2004–2021
Lee Trevino6 1968–1984
Seve Ballesteros5 1979–1988
James Braid5 1901–1910
Byron Nelson5 1937–1945
J.H. Taylor5 1894–1913
Peter Thomson5 1954–1965
Willie Anderson4 1901–1905
Jim Barnes4 1916–1925
Ernie Els4 1994–2012
Raymond Floyd4 1969–1986
Brooks Koepka4 2017–2019
Bobby Locke4 1949–1957
Rory McIlroy4 2011–2014
Old Tom Morris4 1861–1867
Young Tom Morris4 1868–1872
Willie Park Sr.4 1860–1875
Jamie Anderson3 1877–1879
Tommy Armour3 1927–1931
Julius Boros3 1952–1968
Billy Casper3 1959–1970
Henry Cotton3 1934–1948
Jimmy Demaret3 1940–1950
Bob Ferguson3 1880–1882
Ralph Guldahl3 1937–1939
Padraig Harrington3 2007–2008
Hale Irwin3 1974–1990
Cary Middlecoff3 1949–1956
Larry Nelson3 1981–1987
Nick Price3 1992–1994
Denny Shute3 1933–1937
Vijay Singh3 1998–2004
Jordan Spieth3 2015–2017
Payne Stewart3 1989–1999
Jack Burke Jr.2 1956
Angel Cabrera2 2007–2009
Ben Crenshaw2 1984–1995
John Daly2 1991–1995
Leo Diegel2 1928–1929
Olin Dutra2 1932–1934
Doug Ford2 1955–1957
Retief Goosen2 2001–2004
David Graham2 1979–1981
Hubert Green2 1977–1985
Harold Hilton2 1892–1897
Jock Hutchison2 1920–1921
Tony Jacklin2 1969–1970
Lee Janzen2 1993–1998
Dustin Johnson2 2016–2020
Zach Johnson2 2007–2015
Martin Kaymer2 2010–2014
Bernhard Langer2 1985–1993
Sandy Lyle2 1985–1988
Bob Martin2 1876–1885
John McDermott2 1911–1912
Johnny Miller2 1973–1976
Collin Morikawa2 2020–2021
Greg Norman2 1986–1993
Andy North2 1978–1985
Jose Maria Olazabal2 1994–1999
Mark O'Meara2 1998
Willie Park Jr.2 1887–1889
Henry Picard2 1938–1939
Ted Ray2 1912–1920
Paul Runyan2 1934–1938
Alex Smith2 1906–1910
Horton Smith2 1934–1936
Dave Stockton2 1970–1976
Curtis Strange2 1988–1989
Justin Thomas2 2017–2022
Bubba Watson2 2012–2014
Craig Wood2 1941
Fuzzy Zoeller2 1979–1984

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List