Golfers With the Most Wins in Senior Majors

Which golfers have won the most senior majors? In senior (50-and-over) golf, there are five major championships recognized by the Champions Tour (officially named PGA Tour Champions), which is the pre-eminent tour for professional, 50-and-over golfers. The list below includes every golfer with at least two victories in those senior majors.

The five major championships of senior golf are the U.S. Senior Open, Senior British Open, Senior PGA Championship, Senior Players Championship and The Tradition. So far, only one golfer has reached double-digit wins in senior majors, Bernhard Langer.

See also: Career wins leaders on the Champions Tour

The List: Most Wins in Champions Tour Majors

("Span" refers to the years during which the listed wins took place. The first year is the year of the golfer's first major win, the second year his last or most-recent senior win. If only one year is listed, all his major wins happened in that one year.)

Bernhard Langer12 2010–2023
Gary Player9 1986–1997
Jack Nicklaus8 1990–1996
Hale Irwin7 1996–2004
Steve Stricker7 2019–2023
Tom Watson6 2001–2011
Miller Barber5 1981–1985
Arnold Palmer5 1980–1985
Allen Doyle4 1999–2006
Raymond Floyd4 1994–2000
Kenny Perry4 2013–2017
Loren Roberts4 2005–2009
Lee Trevino4 1990–1994
Alex Cejka3 2021-2023
Fred Funk3 2008–2010
Jay Haas3 2006–2009
Tom Lehman3 2010–2012
Colin Montgomerie3 2014–2015
Gil Morgan3 1997–1998
Dave Stockton3 1992–1996
Brian Barnes2 1995–1996
Paul Broadhurst2 2016–2018
Billy Casper2 1983–1988
Roger Chapman2 2012
Bob Charles2 1989–1993
Fred Couples2 2011–2012
Peter Jacobsen2 2004–2005
Miguel Angel Jimenez2 2018
Graham Marsh2 1997–1999
Jeff Maggert2 2015
Orville Moody2 1989
Christy O'Connor Jr.2 1999–2000
Mike Reid2 2005–2009
Chi Chi Rodríguez2 1996–1997
Eduardo Romero2 2006–2008
Craig Stadler2 2003–2004
Doug Tewell2 2000–2001
Tom Wargo2 1993–1994

A couple notes. First, only one of the five senior majors pre-dates the establishment of the Champions Tour in 1980. The Senior PGA Championship dates to 1937, but only its winners since 1980 are counted as senior major champions by the Champions Tour.

Second, while the Senior British Open dates to 1987, it was only elevated to Champions Tour major status in 2003. The Champions Tour for many years only counted its winners as major champions from 2003-on. Because of that, Jack Nicklaus was, for many years, called the leader in senior majors with 8. He eventually was passed by Langer, of course, but before that, Gary Player — who was credited with six majors but also had three Senior British Open wins prior to 2003 — relentlessly lobbied for all Senior British Open winners to be credited with winning Champions Tour majors, including those who won prior to 2003. In 2018, the Champions Tour finally agreed, and Player's total of senior major championship wins was bumped up to nine.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List