Men's Winners of the McCormack Medal for Amateur Golfers

The McCormack Medal is awarded annually by the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews (the R&A) to the golfer ranked No. 1 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) following the last elite amateur tournament of the year.

The medal was instituted in 2007 for male golfers. In 2011, the R&A began awarding the McCormack Medal for women golfers, too. (View the list of women's McCormack Medal winners.) The establishment of the McCormack Medal happened in the year that the WAGR was established — they went hand-in-hand.

The men's medal is presented to the golfer who is No. 1 in the WAGR one week after the U.S. Amateur Championship or the European Amateur Championship, whichever comes last on the schedule in a given year.

McCormack Medal: Men's Winners

2023 — Gordon Sargent, United States
2022 — Keita Nakajima, Japan
2021 — Keita Nakajima, Japan
2020 — Takumi Kanaya, Japan
2019 — Cole Hammer, United States
2018 — Braden Thornberry, United States
2017 — JoaquĆ­n Niemann, Chile
2016 — Maverick McNealy, United States
2015 — Jon Rahm, Spain
2014 — Ollie Schniederjans, United States
2013 — Matt Fitzpatrick, England
2012 — Chris Williams, United States
2011 — Patrick Cantlay, United States
2010 — Peter Uihlein, United States
2009 — Nick Taylor, Canada
2008 — Danny Lee, New Zealand
2007 — Colt Knost, United States

Who Is the McCormack in the Name of the Award?

The full name of the award is the Mark H. McCormack Medal. So who is Mark H. McCormack? McCormack, a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame, was born in 1930 and died in 2003. Over a long and hugely influential career, McCormack made his mark in golf as a player agent, tournament organizer and behind-the-scenes mover-and-shaker.

In the 1950s he got into golf through the organization of national touring exhibitions featuring big-name golfers. In the 1960s he became very famous as the mega-agent who represented, among others, the "Big 3": Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer and Gary Player.

McCormack was the founder of IMG, the global sports agency and media company. In the 1960s he created the first world golf rankings and updated them throughout the year, culminating in a year-end book, The World of Professional Golf Annual (affiliate link).

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog