Best Scores for First 3 Rounds in a U.S. Open

In the history of the U.S. Open, a golfer has played the first three rounds (54 holes) in fewer than 200 strokes exactly one time. The golfer who did it, the golfer who currently holds the record for lowest score after the first three rounds of a U.S. Open, is Rory McIlroy.

McIlroy set the record of 199 for the first 54 holes at the 2011 U.S. Open. He had a first-round 65, a second-round 66, and scored 68 in the third round for a 199 total. McIlroy had an 8-stroke lead at that point, and he wound up winning the tournament by eight.

The List: Lowest Scores, First 54 Holes, U.S. Open

  • 199 — Rory McIlroy (65-66-68), Congressional Country Club (Blue Course), Bethesda, Maryland, 2011
  • 200 — Jim Furyk (67-66-67), Olympia Fields (Ill.) Country Club (North Course), 2003
  • 200 — Wyndham Clark (64-67-69), Los Angeles (Calif.) Country Club (North Course), 2023
  • 200 — Rickie Fowler (62-68-70), Los Angeles (Calif.) Country Club (North Course), 2023
  • 201 — Rory McIlroy (65-67-69), Los Angeles (Calif.) Country Club (North Course), 2023
  • 202 — Ricky Barnes (67-65-70), Bethpage State Park (Black Course), Farmingdale, New York, 2009
  • 202 — Martin Kaymer (65-65-72), Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (No. 2), Village of Pinehurst, North Carolina, 2014
  • 202 — Gary Woodland (68-65-69), Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links, 2019
Of the golfers who make the list, McIlroy (in 2011), Clark, Furyk, Kaymer and Woodland all went on to win their respective tournaments.

Clark's victory in the 2023 U.S. Open overshadowed the efforts that year of Fowler and McIlroy. McIlroy finished second to Clark, while Fowler wound up in fifth place.

And Barnes, in 2009, also wound up in second place following the fourth and final round.

Related articles:

DiMeglio, Steve. "Coronation of Rory: McIlroy wins record-setting U.S. Open," USA Today, June 19, 2011, Golf, Scores, 2023 U.S. Open leaderboard,
United States Golf Association. U.S. Open Championship Record Book 2024.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List