Most Wins in the U.S. Women's Open Golf Tournament

What is the tournament record at the U.S. Women's Open golf tournament for most wins? That record is four, and it is shared by two of the biggest names in LPGA Tour history. Here you'll find out who those two, four-time U.S. Women's Open winners are, plus see the list of all multiple champions in the history of this major championship.

The Record-Holders: 4 Wins Each

Betsy Rawls: 1951, 1953, 1957, 1960

Rawls was one of the biggest stars on the LPGA Tour in the 1950s, its first decade of existence. In 1951, Year 2 of the LPGA and Year 6 of the U.S. Women's Open, Rawls made this championship her second professional victory. She went on to win 55 LPGA titles total.

Rawls won that first title by five strokes over runner-up Louise Suggs. (Rawls had finished runner-up to Babe Zaharias in 1950 playing as an amateur.) In 1953, Rawls defeated Jackie Pung in an 18-hole playoff, 71 to 77.

In 1957, Rawls added her third USWO title, beating runner-up Patty Perg by six strokes. And she became the first four-time champion of the U.S. Women's Open in 1960, when a third-round 68 (the only sub-71 round of the tournament) propelled her to a one-stroke win over Joyce Ziske.

Mickey Wright: 1958, 1959, 1961, 1964

Mickey Wright, who won a total of 82 LPGA titles, earned the first of her four U.S. Women's Open wins in 1958. And just like in Rawls' first, the runner-up was Louise Suggs by five strokes.

Wright's second USWO victory was in 1959, when she became the tournament's first back-to-back champion. Going for three in a row in 1960, Wright finished fifth behind champion Rawls.

In 1961, Rawls was runner-up to champion Wright, although Wright won the trophy with a six-stroke margin. And Wright became the second four-time champion in 1964, when she led or co-led after each round — but was forced into an 18-hole playoff by Ruth Jessen. Wright won that playoff 70 to 72.

The List: All Golfers With Multiple U.S. Women's Open Wins

Golfers with 4 USWO Victories

  • Betsy Rawls (1951, 1953, 1957, 1960)
  • Mickey Wright (1958, 1959, 1961, 1964)

3 Wins

  • Babe Didrikson Zaharias (1948, 1950, 1954)
  • Susie Maxwell Berning (1968, 1972, 1973)
  • Hollis Stacy (1977, 1978, 1984)
  • Annika Sorenstam (1995, 1996, 2006)

2 Wins

  • Louise Suggs (1949, 1952)
  • JoAnne Carner (1971, 1976)
  • Meg Mallon (1991, 2004)
  • Patty Sheehan (1992, 1994)
  • Juli Inkster (1999, 2002)
  • Inbee Park (2008, 2013)

Popular posts from this blog