North British-Harrogate Golf Tournament Winners, Records

The North British-Harrogate Tournament was a men's professional golf tournament played in the North of England from the late 1940s to the mid-1950s. The roster of champions includes some of the biggest names playing the British pro circuit at that time.

First played: 1947

Last played: 1954

The North British-Harrogate Tournament went through multiple format changes over the years. The first three years it was a 72-hole stroke play event. Then, for another three years, it was a 90-hole stroke play tournament.

In its last two years it switched to match play, but in the final year there were actually two tournaments: first a stroke-play event, then a match-play tournament for which the stroke-play tournament also served as a qualifier.

Bobby Locke was the only multiple winner. Roberto De Vicenzo won a stroke-play title, and also reached the championship match during the match play years before losing.

The stroke-play scoring record for 72 holes was 271 by Norman Von Nida; for 90 holes, 337 by Flory Van Donck. The largest margin of victory was six strokes by John Panton over runner-up Harry Weetman in 1952.

Also known as: Swallow-Harrogate Tournament, Swallow-Harrogate Stroke Play Tournament, Swallow-Harrogate Match Play Tournament

Winners of the North British-Harrogate Tournament

1947 — Norman Von Nida, 271
1948 — Roberto De Vicenzo, 277
1949 — Charlie Ward, 281
1950 — Bobby Locke, 348
1951 — Flory Van Donck, 337
1952 — John Panton, 343
1953 — Jack Hargreaves def. Roberto De Vicenzo, 2 and 1
1954 — Bobby Locke, 276
1954 — Eric Lester def. Antonio Cerda, 2-up

Golf courses: Three golf courses in the Harrogate, England vicinity were used over the years: Harrogate Golf Club, Oakdale Golf Club and Pannal Golf Club. Oakdale was the site the final two years.

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List