LPGA Quality Chek'd Classic Tournament (Waco Tribune Herald Ladies Classic)

The Quality Chek'd Classic, known as the Waco Tribune Herald Ladies Classic the last time it was played, was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour in the mid-1960s to early/mid-1970s. It was played in Waco, Texas.

First played: 1966

Last played: 1973

Perhaps the most important historical thing that happened in the Quality Chek'd Classic was the victory, in 1967, of Margie Masters. Masters thereby became the first Australian winner on the LPGA Tour. It was Masters' only win on the LPGA.

Kathy Whitworth was the only two-time winner of the tournament in its eight-year run. She was also runner-up once. Carol Mann won in 1968 and was runner-up in the year before and the year after. Mann and Whitworth, along with Mickey Wright, tied for second place, one stroke behind, in 1967, when Masters won. So Masters might have only had that one victory, but it was well-earned and historic.

This was a 54-hole tournament. The tournament scoring record of 205 was set by Whitworth in her 1970 victory.

Also known as: In addition to Quality Chek'd Classic (1967-70) and Waco Tribune Herald Ladies Classic (1973), this tournament had two other names. In its first year it was called The Success Open. In two other years (1971-72) it was named the Quality First Classic.

Winners of the Quality Chek'd Classic

1966 — Clifford Ann Creed, 207
1967 — Margie Masters, 214
1968 — Carol Mann, 212
1969 — Mary Mills, 213
1970 — Kathy Whitworth, 205
1971 — Judy Rankin, 214
1972 — Sandra Haynie, 206
1973 — Kathy Whitworth, 209

Golf course: The tournament always took place at the Lake Waco Country Club in Waco, Texas.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List