George Washington Classic (LPGA Tour Golf Tournament)

The Georgia Washington Classic was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour that was played in Pennsylvania in the 1970s. It was a 54-hole tournament.

First played: 1970

Last played: 1975

The tournament's short roster of six winners includes three Hall-of-Famers: Judy Rankin, Sandra Haynie and Carol Mann. Mann set the tournament record with a winning score of 206 in the final year of the event, but it was Haynie who was the real story of the George Washington Classic. She won once and set the tournament's margin-of-victory record (five strokes). But she was also runner-up in 1970, 1971 and 1972.

The first four (out of the six times total) the tournament was played, the winning margin was just one stroke.

Also known as: George Washington Ladies Classic, George Washington Golf Classic.

Winners of the LPGA George Washington Classic Golf Tournament

1975 — Carol Mann, 206
1974 — Sandra Haynie, 213
1973 — Carole Jo Skala, 214
1972 — Kathy Ahern, 213
1971 — Jane Blalock, 208
1970 — Judy Rankin, 212

Golf courses: All six years the tournament was played at Hidden Spring Golf Club in Horsham, Pennsylvania.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List