BMW Asian Open Golf Tournament (European Tour)

The BMW Asian Open was a men's professional golf tournament co-sanctioned by the Asian Tour and European Tour that was played in the early 2000s. Although it was played only a handful of times, there are two significant facts about it.

First, the tournament was one of the European Tour's first forays into the Asian market. The BMW Asian Open began in Taiwan and then moved to mainland China.

Second, an all-time European Tour record was broken in the 2005 tournament. Ernie Els won that event by 13 strokes, breaking the tour's margin-of-victory record.

First played: 2001

Last played: 2008

Also known as: No other tournament names.

Winners of the BMW Asian Open

2008 — Darren Clarke, 280
2007 — Raphael Jacquelin, 278
2006 — Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, 281
2005 — Ernie Els, 262
2004 — Miguel Angel Jimenez, 274
2003 — No tournament
2002 — Padraig Harrington, 273
2001 — Jarmo Sandelin, 278

Golf courses: The tournament debuted at Ta Shee Golf and Country Club in Taiwan and took place there its first two years. After the move to China, the golf course was Tomson Shanghai Pudong Golf Club in Pudong, Shanghai.

Popular posts from this blog