European Tour Cannes Open Golf Tournament

The Cannes Open was a golf tournament on the European Tour that was played for most of the 1980s and 1990s in the famous resort city in France.

First played: 1984

Last played: 2001

The highlight of the tournament's history was the 1987 Cannes Open, won by Seve Ballesteros in a playoff against Ian Woosnam. Woosnam later won the 1994 tournament, and Ballesteros and Woosnam are the only two major champions who won this tournament.

Mark McNulty was the only two-time champion (1988, 1990), and he almost added a third: In 1993, McNulty lost in a playoff to Rodger Davis. ... Frenchman Thomas Levet earned his inaugural Euro Tour victory here in 1998.

By the time of the Cannes Open's demise, it had one of the smallest purses on the European Tour. ... Jorge Berendt of Argentina won that final event in 2001 with a tournament-record score of 268. It was his only win on the European Tour.

Also known as: The tournament was named the Suze Open for two years (1986-87); otherwise, it always had Cannes Open in its title but with various title sponsors. Those sponsors include Compagnie de Chauffe, Credit Lyonnais, Air France and Europe 1.

Winners of the Cannes Open

1984 — David Frost, 280
1985 — Robert Lee-p, 280
1986 — John Bland, 276
1987 — Seve Ballesteros-p, 275
1988 — Mark McNulty, 279
1989 — Paul Broadhurst, 207 (shortened to 54 holes)
1990 — Mark McNulty, 280
1991 — David Feherty, 275
1992 — Anders Forsbrand, 273
1993 — Rodger Davis-p, 271
1994 — Ian Woosnam, 271
1995 — Andre Bossert, 132 (shortened to 36 holes due to rain)
1996 — Raymond Russell, 272
1997 — Stuart Cage, 270
1998 — Thomas Levet, 278
1999 — No tournament
2000 — No tournament
2001 — Jorge Berendt, 268

(p-won playoff)

Golf courses: The Golf Cannes Mougins club was the site of the tournament from its debut in 1984 through 1994, then again in 2001. In the other years it took place at Royal Mougins nearby.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List