Champions Tour GTE Northwest Classic Tournament

The GTE Northwest Classic was a Champions Tour (senior tour) golf tournament played in the Seattle, Washington, area from the mid-1980s through the mid-1990s. It was 54 holes (three rounds) of stroke play.

First played: 1986

Last played: 1995

Bruce Crampton won the first GTE Northwest Classic in 1986, then he won the third one in 1988. Crampton was the only golfer to win this event more than once. He also finished runner-up in 1990.

Mike Hill set the tournament scoring records of 198 and 18-under-par in 1991. There was one playoff at the tournament, in 1995 when Simon Hobday defeated Jim Albus with a birdie on the third extra hole. The largest margin of victory was four strokes by Dave Stockton in 1993.

When Ted Naff scored a double eagle in the 1990 tournament, it was just the eighth albatross in Champions Tour history.

Winners of the GTE Northwest Classic

1986 — Bruce Crampton, 67-71-72—210
1987 — Chi Chi Rodriguez, 70-68-68—206
1988 — Bruce Crampton, 69-68-70—207
1989 — Al Geiberger, 68-68-68—204
1990 — George Archer, 69-66-70—205
1991 — Mike Hill, 68-66-64—198
1992 — Mike Joyce, 70-70-64—204
1993 — Dave Stockton, 65-68-67—200
1994 — Simon Hobday, 70-69-70—209 (def. Jim Albus in playoff)
1995 — Walter Morgan, 68-68-67—203

Golf courses: The tournament debuted at Sahalee Country Club in Seattle, but was played there for just the first year. The remainder of the GTE Northwest Classic's tournaments took place at Inglewood Golf Club in Kenmore, Washington.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List