2023 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2023 PGA Championship was the 105th time this tournament was played. But it was the third time this major was won by Brooks Koepka.

Winner: Brooks Koepka, 271

Where it was played: Oak Hill Country Club (East Course) in Pittsford, New York

Tournament dates: May 18-21, 2023

Leader after first round: Bryson DeChambeau, 66

Leaders after second round: Scottie Scheffler, Corey Conners and Viktor Hovland, 135

Leader after third round: Brooks Koepka, 204

What Happened at the 2023 PGA Championship

For the third time, Brooks Koepka lifted the Wanamaker Trophy as PGA Champion. He previously won the tournament back-to-back in 2018-19. And it was his fifth overall victory in a major championship, having also previously won two U.S. Open titles. That made Koepka the 20th golfer to this point in the sport's history to win five or more major championships.

Koepka opened with a 72, but a 66 in the second round moved him into a tie for sixth place, three behind midway leader Corey Conners. Koepka added another 66 in Round 3 to take the lead at 204. That was one stroke better than the two golfers tied for second, Conners and Viktor Hovland.

Koepka got his lead up to three with three birdies in the first four holes of the final round. Conners soon began to struggle and eventually fell out of the chase. But Hovland was able to hang around and, later in the round, challenge Koepka's lead, while 2022 Masters champ Scottie Scheffler surged up the leaderboard. Scheffler shot 65 to post 7-under.

Hovland birdied the 13th and 14th holes to get within one stroke of Koepka, who was 9-under at that point. But the tournament turned on the 16th hole: Hovland drove into a fairway bunker, mis-hit his recovery shot and his ball embedded in the bunker facing. After a drop, he could only pitch out. Hovland wound up making double bogey. Koepka birdied the 16th to go to 10-under, all but wrapping his arms around the trophy.

The PGA Championship always includes PGA Professionals in the tournament. One of those in 2023 was Michael Block, who began the final round tied for eighth place. His final round included a hole-in-one and he shot 71 to tie for 15th place, the best finish by a club professional in a PGA Championship since 1986.

Fifty-two-year-old Phil Mickelson finished well down the leaderboard, but he made the cut for the 27th title. That tied him with Jack Nicklaus and Raymond Floyd for most career cuts made in the PGA Championship.

2023 PGA Championship Final Scores

Brooks Koepka72-66-66-67—271
Viktor Hovland68-67-70-68—273
Scottie Scheffler67-68-73-65—273
Bryson DeChambeau66-71-70-70—277
Kurt Kitayama70-71-71-65—277
Cam Davis71-70-71-65—277
Rory McIlroy71-69-69-69—278
Sepp Straka69-71-73-65—278
Justin Rose69-70-69-71—279
Patrick Cantlay74-67-72-66—279
Cameron Smith72-72-70-65—279
Victor Perez70-72-69-69—280
Shane Lowry73-67-71-69—280
Corey Conners67-68-70-75—280
Eric Cole67-74-70-70—281
Michael Block70-70-70-71—281
Tyrrell Hatton77-68-69-67—281
Xander Schauffele72-72-71-67—282
Min Woo Lee73-67-71-71—282
Tommy Fleetwood72-71-68-71—282
Patrick Reed72-71-69-70—282
Mito Pereira72-69-74-67—282
Ryan Fox68-73-71-71—283
Matt NeSmith70-70-74-69—283
Alex Smalley73-72-70-68—283
Justin Suh69-68-73-74—284
Collin Morikawa71-70-74-69—284
Hayden Buckley69-74-71-70—284
Denny McCarthy75-70-72-68—285
Callum Tarren71-67-79-68—285
Chris Kirk70-75-69-71—285
Adam Scott68-74-74-69—285
Keegan Bradley68-72-74-71—285
Jordan Spieth73-72-71-69—285
Hideki Matsuyama72-71-70-72—285
Patrick Rodgers70-75-72-68—285
Harold Varner III70-71-74-70—285
K.H. Lee73-68-75-69—285
Taylor Pendrith70-69-74-72—285
Lucas Herbert75-69-72-70—286
J.T. Poston72-70-75-69—286
Adrian Meronk75-69-74-68—286
Sahith Theegala71-71-71-73—286
Thomas Detry74-71-73-68—286
Adam Hadwin70-73-73-70—286
Beau Hossler71-70-74-71—286
Chez Reavie76-68-71-71—286
Thomas Pieters69-76-70-71—286
Adam Svensson70-70-73-73—286
Nicolai Hojgaard76-67-73-71—287
Padraig Harrington72-71-75-69—287
Stephan Jaeger72-70-69-76—287
Jon Rahm76-68-72-71—287
Dean Burmester73-71-72-72—288
Dustin Johnson67-74-74-74—289
Lee Hodges75-70-75-69—289
Max Homa71-72-74-72—289
Phil Mickelson73-72-75-70—290
Tom Hoge74-70-72-74—290
Zach Johnson74-71-74-71—290
Keith Mitchell69-71-73-77—290
Sihwan Kim75-68-75-73—291
Rikuya Hoshino75-70-75-71—291
Thriston Lawrence75-69-73-74—291
Matt Wallace73-70-75-74—292
Pablo Larrazabal69-75-74-74—292
Taylor Montgomery75-70-76-71—292
Justin Thomas72-73-75-72—292
Yannik Paul76-69-73-75—293
Ben Taylor72-72-78-71—293
Joel Dahmen74-69-78-72—293
Taylor Moore74-69-78-74—295
Tony Finau72-73-73-77—295
Sam Stevens71-72-73-79—295
Mark Hubbard71-74-79-74—298
Kazuki Higa72-73-77-78—300

Previous and next:
2022 PGA Championship - 2024 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog