Piccadilly Medal Tournament (European Tour)

The Piccadilly Medal Tournament was a stroke-play tournament that pre-dated the European Tour, but that was also part of the European Tour schedule in that tour's first four years of existence. The event had multiple names and formats over its history.

First played: 1962

Last played: 1976

The Piccadilly Medal tournament began as part of the British PGA Circuit that pre-dated the European Tour. It began its life as a typical 72-hole, stroke-play tournament, and that is also what it was the last year it took place. It spent one year as a fourball match play event; and from 1969-75 was a knockout stroke-play tournament. (Knockout stroke play means that golfers matched up one-vs.-one for 18 holes of stroke play, and the one with the lower score advanced to the next round.)

Two golfers won the tournament twice: Peter Butler in the first 72-hole, stroke-play period; and Peter Oosterhuis in the stroke-play knockout period. Oosterhuis was also runner-up once.

At the final tournament in 1976, Sam Torrance earned the first of his 21 career wins on the European Tour. In 1969, Peter Alliss' win was his 20th and last on the British PGA circuit.

From 1964-68, this tournament was played at the same golf club (but different course) as, and immediately before, the Piccadilly World Match Play Championship. When the European Tour debuted in 1972, the Piccadilly Medal was part of its first-year schedule, and continued as part of the Euro Tour until the tournament ended after 1976.

Also known as: In its first year, it had the odd name of Piccadilly No. 1 Tournament. The next four years it was was played, just "Piccadilly Tournament." Then, for one year and reflecting a format change, Piccadilly Four Ball Match Play Tournament. From 1969 through its finish, it was the Piccadilly Medal Tournament.

Winners of the Piccadilly Medal Golf Tournament

1962 — Peter Thomson, 283
1963 — Not played
1964 — Jimmy Martin, 268
1965 — Peter Butler, 267
1966 — Bernard Hunt, 262
1967 — Peter Butler, 263
1968 — Richard Emery/Hugh Jackson def. Neil Coles/Byron Hutchinson, 2 and 1
1969 — Peter Alliss def. George Will, 149-149 (sudden death playoff)
1970 — John Lister def. Tommy Horton, 134-137
1971 — Peter Oosterhuis def. Eric Brown, walkover
1972 — Tommy Horton def. Guy Hunt, 157-158
1973 — Peter Oosterhuis def. Terry Westbrook, 67-73
1974 — Maurice Bembridge def. Peter Oosterhuis, 65-70
1975 — Bob Shearer def. Andries Oosthuizen, 70-70 (sudden death playoff)
1976 — Sam Torrance, 277

Golf courses: Two golf courses each hosted four years, Wentworth Club near London (1964-67) and Coventry (England) Golf Club (1973-76). Among the other courses visited by the Piccadilly Medal tournament were Southport & Ainsdale; Pince's, Southerndown and Hillside.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List