LPGA Mediheal Championship Golf Tournament

The Mediheal Championship was a women's professional golf tournament on the LPGA Tour schedule. It was played several times from the late 2010s to the early 2020s, but dropped off the schedule following the 2022 tournament.

First played: 2018

Last played: 2022

The tournament debuted with a bang in 2018 when Lydia Ko made eagle on the first playoff hole to defeat Minjee Lee and win the trophy. The next year, there was a three-way playoff, won by Sei Young Kim over Bronte Law and Jeongeun Lee6 on the first extra hole. Law started the final round that year 10 strokes off the lead. Had she pulled off the victory, she would have tied the all-time LPGA record for largest final-round comeback.

The last two times the Mediheal Championship was played, it produced first-time winners: Matilda Castren and Jodi Ewart Shadoff. Ewart Shadoff had made 246 LPGA Tour starts before getting that maiden victory in 2022.

The tournament's 72-hole scoring record was Ewart Shadoff's 273 in 2022. She also shares the 18-hole tournament record, with Celine Boutier, of 64.

The title sponsor, Mediheal (a Korean company making women's skincare products), withdrew after 2022.

Winners of the LPGA Mediheal Championship

2018 — Lydia Ko, 276 (def. Minjee Lee in playoff)
2019 — Sei Young Kim, 281 (def. Bronte Law, Jeongeun Lee6 in playoff)
2020 — Not played
2021 — Matilda Castren, 274
2022 — Jodi Ewart Shadoff, 273

Golf courses: The tournament took place at Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, California, the first three times it was played. Its final edition was at The Saticoy Club in Somis, Calif.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List