Rapiscan Systems Classic: Champions Tour Golf Tournament

The Rapiscan System Classic was a golf tournament on the Champions Tour that was played from the early 2010s into the early 2020s. It was originally named the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic, and was always played in Mississippi.

First played: 2010

Last played: 2022

The tournament was 54 holes of stroke play, usually played in March or April. It was discontinued following the 2022 tournament (which itself was the first time in three years it had taken place) after the withdrawal of the title sponsor.

The tournament ended with a new scoring record being set. In 2022, winner Steven Alker's 198 became the only time the winner got below 200. Tom Lehman's 200 had stood since 2011 as the tournament's 54-hole record. Alker also set the tournament's 18-hole record of 62 in 2022, as well as the largest winning margin (six strokes).

The only multiple champion was Miguel Angel Jimenez, who won back-to-back in 2016-27. When Jeff Maggert won in 2014, it was his first Champions Tour victory in his first-ever start on that senior circuit. He was the 17th golfer in tour history to win his Champions Tour debut.

Also known as: From 2010-17, it was the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic. Rapiscan Systems Classic was the name from 2018-22.

Winners of the Rapiscan Systems Classic

2010 — David Eger, 205
2011 — Tom Lehman, 200
2012 — Fred Couples, 202
2013 — Michael Allen, 205
2014 — Jeff Maggert, 205
2015 — David Frost, 206
2016 — Miguel Angel Jimenez, 202
2017 — Miguel Angel Jimenez, 203
2018 — Steve Stricker, 205
2019 — Kevin Sutherland, 209
2020 — Not played
2021 — Not played
2022 — Steven Alker, 198

Golf courses: The tournament was always played at Fallen Oak Golf Club in Saucier, Mississippi, near Biloxi, until its final year. In 2022, the tournament took place at Grand Bear Golf Club in Biloxi, Mississippi.

Popular posts from this blog