LPGA Kingsmill Championship (Pure Silk Championship) Tournament

The Kingsmill Championship was an LPGA Tour golf tournament played over nearly a 20-year period, into the 2020s. It was known by several different names, including, at the end, Pure Silk Championship. For part of its run, it was considered one of the higher-prestige events, outside of the majors, on the LPGA Tour.

First played: 2003

Last played: 2021

For all but two years it was played, the tournamet name included "Kingsmill." That's because it was always played at the Kingsmill Resort (on its River Course) in Williamsburg, Virginia. The tournament was discontinued after its 2009 edition due to a lack of sponsorship, then returned in 2012 but folded again after the 2021 tournament. (A PGA Tour tournament, the Anheuser-Busch Classic, was played at Kingsmill for 20 years before the LPGA arrived.)

The 72-hole tournament record was 264, recorded by Lexi Thompson in 2017. The 18-hole tournament record was 62, first scored by Jiyai Shin 2012, then matched by In Gee Chun in 2016. Cristie Kerr led the tournament in victories with three; Ariya Jutanugarn, with two wins, was the only other multiple champion.

Suzann Pettersen's win in 2007 was the first of her 15 LPGA victories. Annika Sorenstam's win in 2008 was the last of her 72 LPGA victories (and, by seven strokes, it tied the tournament record for largest margin of victory first set by Karrie Webb in 2006). Minjee Lee also got her first career LPGA win in this tournament in 2015.

At the 2012 Kingsmill Championship, Jiyai Shin and Paula Creamer played a sudden-death playoff that lasted nine holes. They played the 18th hole over and over again until, on the ninth try, Shin won with a par to Creamer's bogey. It was the second-longest sudden-death playoff in LPGA Tour history.

Also known as: The tournament was called the Michelob Light Open at Kingsmill when it debuted in 2003. After that came Michelob Ultra Open at Kingsmill (2004-09); Kingsmill Championship (2012-18); and Pure Silk Championship (2019-21).

Winners of the Kingsmill Championship

2003 — Grace Park, 275
2004 — Se Ri Pak, 275
2005 — Cristie Kerr, 276
2006 — Karrie Webb, 270
2007 — Suzann Pettersen, 274 (def. Jee Young Lee in playoff)
2008 — Annika Sorenstam, 265
2009 — Cristie Kerr, 268
2010 — No tournament
2011 — No tournament
2012 — Jiyai Shin, 268 (def. Paula Creamer in playoff)
2013 — Cristie Kerr, 272 (def. Suzann Pettersen in playoff)
2014 — Lizette Salas, 271
2015 — Minjee Lee, 269
2016 — Ariya Jutanugarn, 270
2017 — Lexi Thompson, 264
2018 — Ariya Jutanugarn, 199 (54 holes due to weather; def. In Gee Chun and Nasa Hataoka in playoff)
2019 — Bronte Law, 267
2020 — Not played due to COVID pandemic
2021 — Wei-Ling Hsu, 271

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List