Anheuser-Busch Golf Classic/Michelob Championship at Kingsmill

This PGA Tour golf tournament was played 36 times from the late 1960s into the early 2000s. It is probably best-remembered as the Anheuser-Busch Golf Classic, the name under which it was most-often played. But the last name the tournament carried was Michelob Championship at Kingsmill.

First played: 1968

Last played: 2002

This tournament began as a California event, played in that state through 1980. In 1981, it moved cross-country to Georgia, and was played there until it ended after the 2002 tournament.

In 1972, George Knudson earned his eighth career PGA Tour win in this tournament. At the time, that made him the solo record-holder for most wins by a Canadian on tour.

Ed Sneed got his first tour win in this tournament in 1973 after playing his way into the field through qualifying. Fuzzy Zoeller's win in 1986 was the last of his 10 PGA Tour victories. David Duval's win in 1997 was the first of his 13 career PGA Tour victories.

In the 1990 tournament, Andy North tied the PGA Tour's all-time record for fewest putts in a round with 18. It happened during the second round.

Nobody won this tournament more than twice, something accomplished by Johnny Miller, Miller Barber, Calvin Peete, Mark McCumber, David Duval and David Toms. Miller, Peete, Duval and Toms all did it in back-to-back years. Miller was also runner-up once.

The tournament scoring record of 265 was set by Scott Hoch in his 1996 win. The largest margin-of-victory was eight strokes by Miller in 1975 (it was his eighth win of the year). The biggest final-round, come-from-behind win was by Ronnie Black in 1984. Black began the final round seven strokes off the lead, then shot 63 and won by one.

Note: This PGA Tour tournament should not be confused with the Michelob Ultra Open at Kingsmill, which was a tournament played on the LPGA Tour in the 2000s.

Also known as: From its debut in 1968 through 1976, the tournament was named the Kaiser International Open Invitational, after title sponsor Kaiser International Healthcare. Anheuser-Busch took over as title sponsor in 1977, and through 1995 it was the Anheuser-Busch Golf Classic. Then Anheuser-Busch decided to promote one of its specific brands, and from 1996-2002 the tournament name was Michelob Championship at Kingsmill.

Winners of the Anheuser-Busch Golf Classic

1968 — Kermit Zarley, 273
1969 (Jan.) — Miller Barber, 135 (36 holes due to weather)
1969 (Nov.) — Jack Nicklaus, 273 (def. George Archer, Billy Casper and Don January in playoff)
1970 — Ken Still, 278 (def. Lee Trevino, Bert Yancey in playoff)
1971 — Billy Casper, 269
1972 — George Knudson, 271
1973 — Ed Sneed, 275
1974 — Johnny Miller, 271
1975 — Johnny Miller, 272
1976 — J.C. Snead, 274
1977 — Miller Barber, 272
1978 — Tom Watson, 270
1979 — John Fought, 273
1980 — Ben Crenshaw, 272
1981 — John Mahaffey, 276
1982 — Calvin Peete, 203 (54 holes due to weather)
1983 — Calvin Peete, 276
1984 — Ronnie Black, 267
1985 — Mark Wiebe, 273
1986 — Fuzzy Zoeller, 274
1987 — Mark McCumber, 267
1988 — Tom Sieckmann, 270 (def. Mark Wiebe in playoff)
1989 — Mike Donald, 268 (def. Tim Simpson, Hal Sutton in playoff)
1990 — Lanny Wadkins, 266
1991 — Mike Hulbert, 266 (def. Kenny Knox in playoff)
1992 — David Peoples, 271
1993 — Jim Gallagher Jr., 269
1994 — Mark McCumber, 267
1995 — Ted Tryba, 271
1996 — Scott Hoch, 265
1997 — David Duval, 271 (def. Grant Waite, Duffy Waldorf in playoff)
1998 — David Duval, 268
1999 — Notah Begay III, 274 (def. Tom Byrum in playoff)
2000 — David Toms, 271 (def. Mike Weir in playoff)
2001 — David Toms, 269
2002 — Charles Howell III, 270

Golf courses: The original golf course was Silverado Country Club in Napa, California. The tournament took place there through 1980. But after that, its home was Kingsmill Golf Club near Williamsburg, Virginia, played on the club's River Course.

Popular posts from this blog