Youngest Golfers Ever in the Presidents Cup

Who is the youngest golfer to play in the Presidents Cup? The golfer who holds that record was only 18 years old when he played for Team International in the 2009 event.

The Presidents Cup is a team, match-play tournament in which a squad of American golfers (Team USA) faces a squad of non-American, non-European (Team International) golfers. (Team International consists of golfers who are not eligible to play in the Ryder Cup.) The tournament first took place in 1994, and is played on an every-other-year schedule.

In its history, only one golfer younger than 20 has been named to either team. And, so far, just seven golfers younger than 22 have played in the event.

The List: Youngest Presidents Cup Golfers

  • Ryo Ishikawa, 18 years, 24 days old, 2009, Team International
  • Ryo Ishikawa, 20 years, 2 months, 3 days old, 2011, Team International
  • Jordan Spieth, 20 years, 2 months, 8 days old, 2013, Team USA
  • Joo-Hyung "Tom" Kim, 20 years 3 months 1 days, 2022, Team International
  • Joaquin Niemann, 21 years, 1 months, 8 days old, 2019, Team International
  • Hideki Matsuyama, 21 years, 7 months, 11 days old, 2013, Team International
  • Sungjae Im, 21 years, 8 months, 16 days old, 2019, Team International
Note that of the seven golfers who've played in the Presidents Cup before turning 22, only one is American. Which players come next for Team USA? Spieth again, at the 2015 Presidents Cup, was 22 years, 2 months, 14 days. And after that, Tiger Woods at the 1998 Presidents Cup, was 22 years, 11 months, 13 days old.

How did the golfers on the above list fare in their matches? The best record among the youngest Presidents Cup players is the 3-1-1 mark (3 wins, 1 loss, 1 halve) of Sungjae Im in the 2019 Presidents Cup. The worst record among the youngest Presidents Cup players is the 0-3-1 mark of Joaquin Niemann in that same year.

The others: Ishikawa was 3-2-0 (which was the best until Im in 2019) in 2009 and 2-2-0 in 2011. Spieth was 2-2-0 in 2013; and Matsuyama was 1-3-1 in 2013.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List