Presidents Cup Captains: The Full List

Below is the list of Presidents Cup captains, all the golfers who've served in that role for Team USA and Team International going back to the first tournament in 1994.

Every time the Presidents Cup takes place, the two captains are chosen by the PGA Tour. Unlike at the Ryder Cup, where, in the current era, team captains generally serve only once, at the Presidents Cup it is the norm for captains to serve multiple times.

Several golfers have filled their side's captaincy three times: Peter Thomson, Gary Player, Fred Couples, Nick Price. But the overall leader is Jack Nicklaus, who was Team USA captain four times.

In the event's history, there have been two captains who also played on the team he led: Hale Irwin was a player-captain for Team USA in the very first Presidents Cup, and Tiger Woods was player-captain in 2019.

The List of Presidents Cup Captains

  International United States
2024 Mike Weir Jim Furyk
2022 Trevor Immelman Davis Love III
2019 Ernie Els Tiger Woods
2017 Nick Price Steve Stricker
2015 Nick Price Jay Haas
2013 Nick Price Fred Couples
2011 Greg Norman Fred Couples
2009 Greg Norman Fred Couples
2007 Gary Player Jack Nicklaus
2005 Gary Player Jack Nicklaus
2003 Gary Player Jack Nicklaus
2000 Peter Thomson Ken Venturi
1998 Peter Thomson Jack Nicklaus
1996 Peter Thomson Arnold Palmer
1994 David Graham Hale Irwin

(Note: Click on the year in the table above to view the scores of every match from that year's Presidents Cup.)

Related article:

Popular posts from this blog