2024 Presidents Cup

The 2024 Presidents Cup will be the 15th time this tournament is played. Played on an every-other-year basis, it was first contested in 1994. The competition is a team, match-play event, with two squads: Team USA and Team International. (Team International is comprised of golfers from countries that do not participate in the Ryder Cup.)

Through the 2022 Presidents Cup, Team USA had won all but one of the tournaments. Team International was the victor in 1998, and the sides tied, and shared the Cup, at the 2003 Presidents Cup.

When Is the 2024 Presidents Cup?

The dates for the tournament are September 26-29, 2024. Tournament play takes place over four days (schedule below). This edition of the Presidents Cup was originally planned for 2023, but when the COVID-19 pandemic forced a one-year postponent of the 2021 event to 2022, it re-set the Presidents Cup to an every-even-numbered-year schedule.

Keep an eye on the Tickets section of the official Presidents Cup website for information on attending the tournament.

Where Is the 2024 Presidents Cup?

The tournaments will take place in Canada at Royal Montreal Golf Club in Montreal, Quebec. Royal Montreal was previously the site of the 2007 Presidents Cup, which Team USA won by a 19.5 to 14.5 score. Royal Montreal was founded in 1873. It is the oldest golf club in North America in continuous existence.

Team Composition and Captains

Both teams consist of 12 male professional golfers. The selection process sometimes changes from Cup to Cup. But in 2022, teams were filled out this way: For Team USA, six golfers were automatic selections based on a points list, and six were captain's picks; for Team International, eight golfers were automatic selections baed on a points list, and four were captain's picks.

The PGA Tour runs the Presidents Cup, and those points lists — which will go into effect after the 2022 Presidents Cup ends — can be found in the Stats section of PGATour.com.

The PGA Tour is responsible for selecting the respective team captains. In 2024, Mike Weir is the captain for the Internationals and Jim Furyk is the captain for the Americans. (See the list of all previous Presidents Cup captains.)

Weir, from Canada, was the obvious selection to captain Team International. Winner of the 2003 Masters, Weir played in the Presidents Cup five times. Like Weir, Furyk won a major in 2003, the U.S. Open. Furyk played in the Presidents Cup seven times.

Competition Format

The Presidents Cup is played over four days, a change compared to the Ryder Cup and Solheim Cup (which take place over three days). A total of 30 matches are played over those four days, consisting of nine foursomes matches, nine fourball matches and 12 singles matches. The daily schedule breaks down like this:
  • Day 1 — 5 foursomes or fourballs
  • Day 2 — 5 foursomes or fourballs (the format that was not played on Day 1)
  • Day 3 — 4 foursomes and 4 fourballs
  • Day 4 — 12 singles matches. All golfers on both teams play.
For more information, see The Presidents Cup Format Explained and What Happens if the Presidents Cup Ends in a Tie?

Popular posts from this blog