Oldest Golfers Ever in the Presidents Cup

In the history of the Presidents Cup, no golfer aged 50 or over has ever played. But multiple golfers have been almost 50: Five 49-year-olds so far have played in the Presidents Cup.

One of those 49-year-olds took part in the inaugural event, the 1994 Presidents Cup. Hale Irwin wasn't just a player on Team USA, though — he was the Americans' player-captain. But the record Irwin originally set in that 1994 tournament was eventually broken and is currently held by a golfer who was just over a month shy of turning 50.

As a reminder, the Presidents Cup is played on an every-other-year basis. Teams of male tour pros representing the United States and the International side compete in match-play formats.

The List: Oldest Presidents Cup Golfers

  • Jay Haas, 49 years, 11 months, 21 days old, 2003, Team USA
  • Jumbo Ozaki, 49 years, 7 months, 22 days old, 1996, Team International
  • Hale Irwin, 49 years, 3 months, 15 days old, 1994, Team USA
  • Fred Funk, 49 years, 3 months, 11 days old, 2005, Team USA
  • Kenny Perry, 49 years, 2 months, 1 day old, 2009, Team USA
  • Fred Funk, 47 years, 5 months, 9 days old, 2003, Team USA
  • Phil Mickelson, 47 years, 3 months, 12 days old, 2017, Team USA
  • Nick Price, 46 years, 9 months, 26 days old, Team International
  • Vijay Singh, 46 years, 7 months, 19 days old, 2009, Team International
  • Steve Stricker, 46 years, 7 months, 13 days old, 2013, Team USA
The current record-holder, Haas, established that record in the 2003 Presidents Cup. That's the one that famously ended in a tie when a playoff between Tiger Woods and Ernie Els was ended by darkness. That competition led to change in what happens in the event the Presidents Cup ends in a tie.

Haas was one of Team USA captain Jack Nicklaus' captain's picks, and he went 2-1-1. That included a win in singles on the final day.

How did the other "old guys" on the list above fare? Mickelson, in the 2017 Presidents Cup, had the best record at 3-0-1; Funk, in 2005, is the only person on the list who went winless (0-2-2). Ozaki was 1-2-0, Irwin 2-1-0, Perry 1-3-0, Funk in 2003 was 1-2-1, Price 2-2-0, Singh 2-0-3 and Stricker 3-2-0.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List