Golfers Who Won the Most Presidents Cup Matches

The Presidents Cup dates to 1994. Since that debut, which golfers have posted the most match wins in the every-other-year competition? The list below includes multiple Hall of Famers. But the golfer on top is the biggest name of all.

Tiger Woods holds the all-time record for most wins in Presidents Cup matches with 27. His three victories in the 2019 Presidents Cup pushed him past Phil Mickelson for the record.

There are really no surprises on the following list, save, perhaps, for one: One of the golfers below has a losing record in Presidents Cup matches. But he played in so many Cups that he still built enough victories to make this list.

The List: Most Career Wins in the Presidents Cup

  • 27 wins, Tiger Woods, Team USA: Woods first played in 1998 and most recently in 2019, and in those eight appearances compiled a stellar record of 27 wins, 15 losses and one halve. He was He was 8-9-0 in fourball, but 12-4-1 in foursomes, and his 7-2-0 record in singles is also the best-ever in the Presidents Cup. Woods' best tournament was the 2009 Presidents Cup, in which he went 5-0-0. He was also 4-1-0 in 2013 and 3-0-0 in 2019.

  • 26 wins, Phil Mickelson, Team USA: In 12 career Presidents Cups, Mickelson piled up record of 26-16-13 (wins-losses-halves). In fourball, Mickelson was 10-5-6; he was 12-6-4 in foursomes and 4-5-3 in singles. His best years: 3-0-1 in 2009, and 3-1-0 in both 2015 and 2017.

  • 20 wins, Ernie Els, Team International: Els is the record-holder for the International team. His career record was 20-18-2. Els was 8-7-1 in fourball, 8-7-1 in foursomes and 4-4-0 in singles. He went 4-1-0 in the 2003 Presidents Cup for his best showing.

  • 20 wins, Jim Furyk, Team USA: Furyk's overall 20-10-3 mark boasts excellent records in all three of the Presidents Cup formats — he was 8-5-0 in fourball, 7-3-3 in foursomes and 5-2-0 singles. He is one of the small group of golfers to record a perfect 5-0-0 record in a Presidents Cup, doing so in the 2011 tournament.

  • 18 wins, Adam Scott, Team International: Scott is the one golfer on the list with a losing record. In 10 appearances, his record is 18-25-6. (His 25 losses are the Presidents Cup record.) Scott is 5-10-4 in fourball and 8-10-2 in foursomes, plus 5-5-0 in singles. His best record in a single tournament was 3-1-1 in 2005.

  • 16 wins, Davis Love III, Team USA: Like Furyk, Love compiled his career 16-8-4 record by performing very well in all three formats. He was 7-4-1 in fourball, 5-3-2 in foursomes and 4-1-1 in singles matches. Love went 4-0-1 in the inaugural 1994 Presidents Cup, and was 4-0-0 in 2000.

  • 16 wins, Vijay Singh, Team International: Singh's overall record was 16 wins, 15 losses, nine halves. He was 9-5-2 in fourball, 6-6-4 in foursomes, but only 1-4-3 in singles. Singh went 3-1-1 in both 1994 and 1998.

Popular posts from this blog