All the Golfers Who Went 0-5-0 in a Presidents Cup

The Presidents Cup is played every other year between Team International and Team USA. It uses a match-play format, with five matches being the maximum that any golfer can play during a single Cup. Elsewhere we told you about all the golfers with perfect 5-0-0 records. But have any golfers gone 0-5-0 in the Presidents Cup? Yes, two. And both were superstars.

With five matches the most that a golfer can play in any Presidents Cup, that makes the worst possible record a golfer can have in any Presidents Cup 0-5-0. Five matches, five losses. The Presidents Cup has been played since 1994, and in that time only two golfers have gone 0-5-0.

Ernie Els

Els was 0-5-0 in the 2000 Presidents Cup. On Day 1, Els, with partner Vijay Singh, lost in foursomes, to Tiger Woods/Notah Begay III, 1-down. On Day 2, Els/Singh lost in fourball to Phil Mickelson/Davis Love III, 2 and 1; and, in foursomes, fell again to the Woods/Begay team, 6 and 5. On Day 3, Els switched partners to Nick Price, but lost in fourball to Love/David Duval, 3 and 2. Finally, in Day 4 singles, Els lost to Love, 4 and 3.

Phil Mickelson

Mickelson was 0-5-0 in the 2003 Presidents Cup. In foursomes on the first day, Mickelson, with David Toms as his partner, lost to Nick Price/Mike Weir, 1-down. In Day 2 fourball, Mickelson/Toms fell to Weir/Robert Allenby, 3 and 1; and, in foursomes, Mickelson, re-partnered with Chris DiMarco, lost to the team of Els and Adam Scott, 1-down. On Day 3, playing fourball, Mickelson and new partner Fred Funk lost to Peter Lonard/Stephen Leaney, 2 and 1. Finally, in singles on the final day, Mickelson was beaten by Retief Goosen, 2 and 1.

Five matches, zero wins, zero halves, five losses. Not a list you want to be on. But good news for both Els and Mickelson: Overall, in their Presidents Cup careers, both had winning records. In fact, both Mickelson and Els also appear on the list of golfers with the most career wins in the Presidents Cup.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List