Most Consecutive Years Leading the Money List on PGA Tour

What is the PGA Tour record for consecutive years leading the season-ending money list? That record is four years in a row finishing as the tour's money leader. Two golfers share that record.

Record-Holders: 4 Consecutive Years as PGA Tour Money Leader

  • Tom Watson, 1977-80
  • Tiger Woods, 1999-2002
Watson was the first golfer to lead the PGA Tour in earnings four straight years, then Woods joined him. How much did PGA Tour purses grow during that time? Well, let's just compare how much money each golfer won in his streak: Beginning in 1977, Watson led the money list with winnings of $310,653, $362,428, $462,636 and $530,808. Beginning in 1999, Woods led the money list with winnings of $6,616,585, $9,188,321, $5,687,777 and $6,912,625.

Watson's streak ended in 1981 when he finished third, behind Tom Kite and Raymond Floyd. Woods' streak ended in 2003 when he was runner-up on the money list behind Vijay Singh.

See also: Yearly PGA Tour money list leaders and totals

3 Consecutive Years Leading PGA Tour Money List

In addition to the two recordholders, there are only three other times a golfer has led the PGA Tour money list in as many as three consecutive seasons, and Woods appears again:
  • Ben Hogan, 1940-42
  • Jack Nicklaus, 1971-73
  • Tiger Woods, 2005-07

See also: Record for most consecutive years in the Top 10 on money list

Golfers Who Led PGA Tour Money List in Back-to-Back Years

In addition to the golfers already listed above, these golfers have led the PGA Tour money list in back-to-back years:
  • Byron Nelson, 1944-45
  • Sam Snead, 1949-50
  • Arnold Palmer, 1962-63
  • Jack Nicklaus, 1964-65
  • Jack Nicklaus, 1975-76
  • Curtis Strange, 1987-88
  • Nick Price, 1993-94
  • Vijay Singh, 2003-2004
  • Justin Thomas, 2017-18

Popular posts from this blog