2022 Presidents Cup

The 2022 Presidents Cup will be the 14th time this tournament is played. The United States team has won 11 of the previous 13 competitions, the International team has one win, and there has been one tie. The competition pits teams of professional male golfers representing the U.S. and one representing Team International (comprised of golfers from any country outside the United States or Europe).

When Is the 2022 Presidents Cup?

The dates for the next tournament are Sept. 22-24, 2022. Tournament play takes place over four days in the Presidents Cup. This edition was originally scheduled to take place in 2021, but the COVID-19 pandemic pushed it back one year. You can find ticket information here.

The defending champion is Team USA, which won the 2019 Presidents Cup by a score of 16 to 14.

Where Is the 2022 Presidents Cup?

The event takes place in Charlotte, North Carolina (the Presidents Cup alternates between American locations and International locations). The golf course is Quail Hollow Club. Many PGA Tour tournaments have been played at Quail Hollow over the years, including the current Wells Fargo Championship. The 2017 PGA Championship also took place there.

How the Golfers are Selected

For the full explanation, see our article, How Players are Selected for the Presidents Cup. The concise version is that each team consists of 12 golfers. For both sides, eight of those golfers are automatic qualifiers based on points lists, and the team captains each get four captain's picks.

2022 Presidents Cup Team Captains

Davis Love III is the captain for Team USA and Trevor Immelman is the captain for Team International. This is the first captaining experience for Immelman, but Love was Team USA captain in the 2012 Ryder Cup and 2016 Ryder Cup. Love played in the Presidents Cup in 1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2005. Immelman played in the Presidents Cup in 2005 and 2007. Both won major championships as players: Immelman won the 2008 Masters; Love won the 1997 PGA Championship.

Competition Format

The Presidents Cup is played over four days, a change compared to the Ryder Cup and Solheim Cup (which take place over three days). A total of 30 matches are played over those four days, consisting of nine foursomes matches, nine fourball matches and 12 singles matches. The daily schedule breaks down like this:
  • Day 1 — 5 foursomes or fourballs
  • Day 2 — 5 foursomes or fourballs (the format that was not played on Day 1)
  • Day 3 — 4 foursomes and 4 fourballs
  • Day 4 — 12 singles matches. All golfers on both teams play.
For more information, see The Presidents Cup Format Explained and What Happens if the Presidents Cup Ends in a Tie?

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List