Hennessy Ladies Cup, Early LET Golf Tournament

The Hennessy Ladies Cup was a top tournament on the Ladies European Tour in the first couple decades of that tour's existence. It was first played in France before moving to Germany.

First played: 1985

Last played: 1997

The Hennessy Ladies Cup was founded in 1985, seven years after the Ladies European Tour itself was created. The tournament got off to a good start with major star Jan Stephenson claiming the first title by five strokes over runner-up Laura Davies. That margin of victory was never bettered.

Daves lost in a playoff in 1993, but finally got a win here in 1997, the last year the Hennessy Cup was played.

In 1989, Marie-Laure de Lorenzi established an LET record with wins in three successive tournaments, and the Hennessy was the middle victory in that stretch. It was her second consecutive year winning this tournament. Helen Alfredsson and Liselotte Neumann later went back-to-back, as well.

Alfredsson punctuated her 1994 victory with an albatross on the 18th hole. In 1996, she added at third win, more than anyone else.

Annika Sorenstam earned her second-ever LET win here in 1995. Alfredsson in 1992 and Sorenstam in 1995 both posted winning scores of 17-under 271, the tournament scoring record.

Also known as: The tournament was named the Hennessy Cognac Ladies Cup its first three years (1985-87), and the Hennessy Cup its last three (1995-97).

Winners of the Hennessy Ladies Cup

1985 — Jan Stephenson, 283
1986 — Kelly Leadbetter, 293
1987 — Kitrina Douglas, 283
1988 — Marie-Laure de Lorenzi, 284
1989 — Marie-Laure de Lorenzi, 279
1990 — Trish Johnson, 285
1991 — Helen Alfredsson, 280 (def. Corinne Dibnah, Maire-Laure de Lorenzi in playoff)
1992 — Helen Alfredsson, 271
1993 — Liselotte Neumann, 280 (def. Laura Davies in playoff)
1994 — Liselotte Neumann, 277
1995 — Annika Sorenstam, 271
1996 — Helen Alfredsson, 280 (def.Liselotte Neumann, Trish Johnson in playoff)
1997 — Laura Davies, 288

Golf courses: Saint-Cloud Golf Club near Paris, France, was the initial site of the tournament. It moved around France a couple times before settling at St. Germain for four years. In 1991, the Hennessy Cup was relocated to Germany, where it was played each year at Golf-und Land Club in Koln.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List