Payne Stewart Award Winners — The Full List

What is the Payne Stewart Award? It's an award given annually to a golfer who upholds the traditions of the game and who has a focus on charity. The award was founded in 2000, shortly after Payne Stewart, an 11-time PGA Tour winner and three-time major champion, perished in a plane crash the week of the 1999 Tour Championship.

The winner is announced each year during the PGA Tour's season-ending Tour Championship. The PGA Tour describes the Payne Stewart Award this way:

"The award was created by the PGA Tour Policy Board to perpetuate Stewart's memory. It is presented annually at the Tour Championship to a player sharing Stewart's respect for the traditions of the game, his commitment to uphold the game's heritage of charitable support and the professional and meticulous presentation of himself and the sport through his dress and conduct."

The charitable Payne Stewart Family Foundation summarizes it by writing that the award is "given to the PGA player who best epitomizes charity, character, and sportsmanship both on and off the course."

The Payne Stewart Award doesn't always go to a current PGA Tour player; sometimes it has gone to a former PGA Tour player who is playing on the Champions Tour or is mostly retired from competitive play. Only once has their been multiple recipients in a single year. When the award was introduced it 2000, it came in with a bang — Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus were all recipients that year. But since that inaugural year, the Payne Stewart Award has only had one recipient per year.

List of Payne Stewart Award Winners

2023 — Gary Koch
2022 — Billy Andrade
2021 — Justin Rose
2020 — Zach Johnson
2019 — Kenny Perry
2018 — Bernhard Langer
2017 — Stewart Cink
2016 — Jim Furyk
2015 — Ernie Els
2014 — Nick Faldo
2013 — Peter Jacobsen
2012 — Steve Stricker
2011 — David Toms
2010 — Tom Lehman
2009 — Kenny Perry
2008 — Davis Love II
2007 — Hal Sutton
2006 — Gary Player
2005 — Brad Faxon
2004 — Jay Haas
2003 — Tom Watson
2002 — Nick Price
2001 — Ben Crenshaw
2000 — Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus

What does the winner of the Payne Stewart Award recieve? A trophy, of sorts: a sculpture of Stewart. A grant of $500,000 is also made in the name of the recipient, with the award winner getting to designate a charity of his choice to receive $300,000 of that. The rest of the grant is split between two Stewart family charities.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List