Heather Farr Perseverance Award and List of Winners

The Heather Farr Perseverance Award is given annually by the LPGA Tour to one of its golfers who represents the fighting spirit of the late LPGA golfer Heather Farr.

Farr played on the LPGA Tour in the late 1980s/early 1990s, but died in 1993 following a four-and-a-half-year battle with cancer. She was one of the most well-liked and respected golfers among her peers on tour, and she fought throughout with the goal of returning to tour (which, in fact, she was able to do following her first diagnosis).

The LPGA describes the award as one that:

"... honors an LPGA player who, through her hard work, dedication and love of the game of golf, has demonstrated determination, perseverance and spirit in fulfilling her goals as a player."
The award was founded in 1994, and first given posthumously to its namesake, Farr.

It was called the Heather Farr Award when first created, then later the Heather Farr Player Award. Since 2014, it has been called the Heather Farr Perseverance Award. The winner is selected through a vote by LPGA Tour golfers.

List of Heather Farr Award Winners

Here are the award winners each year since 1994:

2023 — Jane Park
2022 — Liz Nagel
2021 — Madelene Sagstrom
2020 — No award
2019 — Suzann Pettersen
2018 — Jessica Korda
2017 — Tiffany Joh
2016 — Ariya Jutanugarn
2015 — Stephanie Meadow
2014 — Lisa Ferrero
2013 — Reilley Rankin
2012 — Sophie Gustafson
2011 — No award
2010 — No award
2009 — Catriona Matthew
2008 — Leta Lindley
2007 — Lorena Ochoa
2006 — Se Ri Pak
2005 — Amy Read
2004 — Colleen Walker
2003 — Beth Daniel
2002 — Kim Williams
2001 — Kris Tschetter
2000 — Brandie Burton
1999 — Nancy Scranton
1998 — Lorie Kane
1997 — Terry-Jo Myers
1996 — Martha Nause
1995 — Shelley Hamlin
1994 — Heather Farr

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List