2025 Walker Cup Dates, Golf Course

The 2025 Walker Cup will be the 50th time this competition, which dates to 1922, is played. The Walker Cup is played every two years between teams of amateur male golfers, one team representing Great Britain & Ireland, the other representing the United States. In the tournament's history, Team USA has 39 wins, Team GB&I nine wins, and there has been one tie.

2025 Walker Cup dates: September 6-7, 2025
Golf course: Cypress Point Club in Pebble Beach, California
Defending champions: Team USA won the 2023 Walker Cup, beating Team GB&I by a final score of 14.5 to 11.5.
Captains: Nathan Smith for Team USA; Team GB&I's captain has not yet been selected.
Tickets: Check the USGA's Walker Cup site, ticket info will be posted there when available.

The 2025 Walker Cup marks the re-emergence of Cypress Point on the international golf scene. Long regarded as one of the greatest golf courses in the world, Cypress Point was part of the course rotation at the Pebble Beach National Pro-Am from 1947-90. It previously hosted the 1981 Walker Cup.

The Walker Cup will switch from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years following the 2025 tournament. So the next Walker Cup will be in 2026.

Tournament information:

Team Composition and Format

Team GB&I and Team USA each have 10 golfers selected by committees from the R&A and USGA, respectively. The Walker Cup is played over two days, with 26 matches total, meaning 26 points are at stake. Eighteen of those matches are singles and eight are foursomes (fourball is not played in the Walker Cup).

On Day 1, the teams play four foursomes (alternate shot) matches in the morning, followed by eight singles matches in the afternoon. On Day 2, they again start with four morning foursomes, but play 10 singles matches in afternoon (so that all 10 golfers per side play in the final session).

It takes 13.5 points to win the Walker Cup, but the defending champion needs only 13 points to retain it (a tie goes to the defending champ, in other words).

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List