All Double Eagles in The Players Championship

Double eagles (also called albatrosses) are rarer scores than holes-in-one. In the history of The Players Championship, there have only been six double eagles so far — far fewer than the number of aces scored in the tournament.

A double eagle is a score of 3-under-par on one hole. If a golfer scores 2 on a par-5 hole, that is a double eagle.

The rarity of double eagles can be illustrated by considering how long it took for one to happen in The Players Championship. The tournament was first played in 1974, and has been played on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass since 1982. But it wasn't until 2007 that the tournament's first albatross took flight.

There were two double eagles in 2007, in fact. But the distinction of making the first double eagle in Players Championship history belongs to Hunter Mahan.

The List: Players Championship Double Eagles

All the following albatrosses were scored on par-5 holes on the TPC Sawgrass Stadium Course.
  • Hunter Mahan, 11th hole, 2007, second round. Holed a 5-iron from 227 yards on his second stroke.
  • Peter Lonard, 2nd hole, 2007, third round. Holed a 5-iron from 229 yards on his second stroke.
  • Rafa Cabrera Bello, 16th hole, 2017, final round. Holed an 8-iron from 182 yards on his second stroke.
  • Brooks Koepka, 16th hole, 2018, final round. Holed a 6-iron from 208 yards on his second stroke.
  • Harris English, 11th hole, 2019, first round. Holed a long iron from 236 yards on his second stroke.
  • Russell Henley, 11th hole, 2022, final round. Holed from 240 yards with his second shot.
Three of the four par-5 holes at TPC Sawgrass have seen double eagles: the 2nd, 11th and 16. But the course's other par-5 hole, the 9th, has not yet had a double eagle scored on it during The Players Championship.

So far, none of the golfers who've double-eagled during The Players Championship have wound up winning the tournament.

Related articles:

PGA Tour. The Players Championship Media Guide, "The Players Championship Tournament Records."

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List