Dunhill Cup International Team Golf Tournament

The Dunhill Cup, named for luxury good maker Alfred Dunhill Ltd., the title sponsor, was an international team tournament played at The Old Course at St. Andrews in Scotland for 16 years beginning in the mid-1980s. Each country that entered was represented by three golfers, and most of the top teams brought three of their best.

First played: 1985

Last played: 2000

The format was, in most years, medal match play: Two teams met, with three matches taking place. The golfer who won each match earned a point for his side. The Dunhill Cup was an unofficial money event on the European Tour, but the tour did support the tournament.

Australia won the first two years, Spain won the final two years. The United States was the only team to win three times.

While multiple individual golfers played on two winning teams, the only team that won twice with the same members was South Africa: In 1997-98, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen and David Frost won back-to-back. Goosen won all five of his matches in both years.

Greg Norman was unbeaten in 11 matches over the 1985-87 tournaments, but finally lost to Curtis Strange in the 1987 third-place match. All Strange had to do to win that match was shoot a then-Old Course-record of 62.

The event was ultimately discontinued when the World Cup was elevated over it in importance, and the Dunhill company created a new event, the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

Also known as: The "Dunhill Cup" name was used from 1985 through 1997; in its final three years, it was called the "Alfred Dunhill Cup."

Winners of the Dunhill Cup Team Tournament

1985 — Australia (David Graham, Graham Marsh, Greg Norman)
1986 — Australia (Rodger Davis, David Graham, Greg Norman)
1987 — England (Gordon J. Brand, Howard Clark, Nick Faldo)
1988 — Ireland (Eamonn Darcy, Ronan Rafferty, Des Smyth)
1989 — United States (Mark Calcavecchia, Tom Kite, Curtis Strange)
1990 — Ireland (David Feherty, Ronan Rafferty, Philip Walton)
1991 — Sweden (Anders Forsbrand, Per-Ulrik Johansson, Mats Lanner)
1992 — England (David Gilford, Steven Richardson, Jamie Spence)
1993 — United States (Fred Couples, John Daly, Payne Stewart)
1994 — Canada (Dave Barr, Rick Gibson, Ray Stewart)
1995 — Scotland (Andrew Coltart, Colin Montgomerie, Sam Torrance)
1996 — United States (Phil Mickelson, Mark O'Meara, Steve Stricker)
1997 — South Africa (Ernie Els, David Frost, Retief Goosen)
1998 — South Africa (Ernie Els, David Frost, Retief Goosen)
1999 — Spain (Sergio Garcia, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Jose Maria Olazabal)
2000 — Spain (Miguel Angel Jimenez, Miguel Angel Martin, Jose Maria Olazabal)

Popular posts from this blog