Regions Charity Classic (Bruno's Memorial Classic) Senior Golf Tournament

The Regions Charity Classic was a golf tournament on the Champions Tour that was played for nearly 20 years starting from the early 1990s.

First played: 1992

Last played: 2010

The tournament was founded by the Bruno family, owners of Bruno's Supermarkets, and the family name was in the tournament title for much of its history. Even after the banking company Regions took over title sponsorship, the Bruno family continued managing the tournament.

Only one golfer in the tournament's history won it multiple times: Brad Bryant was a two-time champ. ... The inaugural winner, George Archer, won despite carding a 2-over 74 in the final round. That was the only time in tournament history a golfer who had an over-par round won it. ... Jim Dent, who won in 1994, played in all 19 editions of the Regions Charity Classic, the only golfer to do so. ... The last of Bruce Fleisher's 18 career Champions Tour win happened here in 2004.

The tournament scoring record of 195 was set by Hale Irwin in 2001. Multiple golfers share the 18-hole tournament record of 63: Jack Kiefer, Graham Marsh, Terry Dill, Gil Morgan, Hale Irwin, Tom Kite and Jim Thorpe.

The tournament ended following the 2010 edition when title sponsor Regions Financial Corporation took over sponsorship of a Champions Tour major, The Tradition.

Also known as: The tournament was called the Bruno's Memorial Classic from 1992 through 2005; and the Regions Charity Classic in 2006-10 with Bruno's Supermarkets as a presenting sponsor (included in the tournament name) from 2006-08.

Winners of the Bruno's Memorial Classic/Regions Charity Classic

1992 — George Archer, 208
1993 — Bob Murphy, 203
1994 — Jim Dent, 201
1995 — Graham Marsh, 201
1996 — John Bland, 208
1997 — Jay Sigel, 205
1998 — Hubert Green, 203
1999 — Larry Nelson, 205
2000 — John Jacobs, 203
2001 — Hale Irwin, 194
2002 — Sammy Rachels, 201
2003 — Tom Jenkins, 200
2004 — Bruce Fleisher, 200
2005 — D. A. Weibring, 201
2006 — Brad Bryant, 199
2007 — Brad Bryant, 204
2008 — Andy Bean, 203
2009 — Keith Fergus, 132 (shorted to 36 holes due to weather)
2010 — Dan Forsman, 196

Golf courses: The tournament was played at Greystone Golf & Country Club in Hoover, Alabama, from the inaugural through 2005. In 2006 it moved to Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Ross Bridge, also in Hoover, Alabama.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List