LPGA Hana Bank Championship Tournament Winners, History

The Hana Bank Championship, originally named the Nine Bridges Classic, was an LPGA Tour event played in South Korea and co-sanctioned by the LPGA of Korea Tour.

First played: 2002

Last played: 2018

The Hana Bank Championship was scheduled for 54 holes for most of its history. In its final five years, the tournament expanded to 72 holes. It was discontinued following the 2018 tournament when title sponsor Hana Bank withdrew.

The tournament was supposed to debut in 2001, but that inaugural event was canceled following the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks. So Se Ri Pak, in 2002, was the first winner.

Only two golfers were two-time champs: Suzann Pettersen, and Na Yeon Choi who won back-to-back titles. The 54-hole tournament record was Grace Park's 200 in 2004; the 72-hole record was Jin Young Ko's 269 in 2017. The 18-hole tournament record was 62, shared by Grace Park, Sung Hyun Park and Amy Yang. In Yang's 62, she tied the LPGA record for lowest 9-hole score with a 27. And she achieved that 27 by birdying all nine holes of the back nine, the first time in LPGA Tour history any golfer did that.

Also known as: It was named the Sports Today CJ Nine Bridges Classic when it debuted. Other names through the years included KOLON-Hana Bank Championship and Hana Bank-KOLON Championship (need to keep fans guessing, we guess), plus the LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship.

LPGA Hana Bank Championship Winners

2018 — In Gee Chun, 272
2017 — Jin Young Ko, 269
2016 — Carlota Ciganda, 278
2015 — Lexi Thompson, 273
2014 — Kyu-jung Baek, 278
2013 — Amy Yang, 207
2012 — Suzann Pettersen, 204
2011 — Yani Tseng, 202
2010 — Na Yeon Choi, 206
2009 — Na Yeon Choi, 206
2008 — Candie Kung, 210
2007 — Suzann Pettersen, 141 (shortened due to poor weather)
2006 — Jin Joo Hong, 205
2005 — Jee Young Lee, 211
2004 — Grace Park, 200
2003 — Shi Hyun Ahn, 204
2002 — Se Ri Pak, 213

Golf courses: Nine Bridges Golf Club was the original host site, for four years. Then the event moved for two years to Mauna Ocean Golf & Resort. The remainder of its history the Hana Bank Championship took place at Sky 72 Golf Club (Ocean Course) in Incheon, South Korea.

Popular posts from this blog