What Does 'Good-Good' Mean in Golf?

"Good-good" is an expression — a question, actually — sometimes used between two golfers, neither of whom wants to attempt their next putts. When two golfers agree to "good-good," it means they both count their putts as good and pick up their golf balls without actually putting. No, "good-good" is not legal under the Rules of Golf.

Because it is against the rules, "good-good" is typically only heard between two friends out playing a recreational round of golf.

To further explain the parameters of "good-good" on the putting green: It is used in a situation in which Golfer A offers to concede his opponent's (Golfer B's) putt if Golfer B reciprocates by conceding Golfer A's own putt — and when Golfer A and B are not playing by the rules.

In match play, golfers have the option (legal under the rules) of condeding an opponent's putt. For example: Golfer A has already made her par putt and her opponent has a 2-foot putt left for par. Golfer A can, at her sole discretion, concede that putt (Golfer B picks up the ball and moves on, counting the putt as made even though the ball wasn't holed).

In the rulebook, concessions are legal only in match play, never in stroke play. But golfers who use "good-good" might use it in either format.

So let's say you are facing a putt that you'd really rather not have to make, while your opponent also has a testing putt remaining. "Good-good?" you ask your opponent.

If the opponent replies in the affirmative, you both pick up your balls and move on to the next hole, counting those putts as made. (If your opponent declines, sorry, you have to putt the ball.)

So what "good-good" boils down to is this: "I'll give you your putt if you give me mine."

Popular posts from this blog

Michelle Wie's Husband (and Former Boyfriend Files)