Farmers Charity Classic Winners, History (Champions Tour)

The Farmers Charity Classic (originally known as the Greater Grand Rapids Open) was a golf tournament on the Champions Tour. It took place from the mid-1980s into the early 2000s. It was always played in or near Grand Rapids, Michigan.

First played: 1986

Last played: 2004

The 54-hole tournament record was 198, set by Larry Nelson in 2000. That bettered the 199 that had previously been recorded twice by George Archer, in 1993 and again in 1998.

The 18-hole record of 63 was first established by Miller Barber in 1987, then matched by Bruce Crampton in 1992, Butch Baird and Chi Chi Rodriguez in 1993, and Nelson in 2000.

Archer was the tournament's first double winner; when Nelson repeated in 2001, he became the only other one. Rodriguez twice lost in playoffs and also finished runner-up one other time.

Also known as: The tournament's original name was Greater Grand Rapids Open. In 1991, that changed to First of America Classic, then in 1999 to the Foremost Insurance Championship. In its final four years it had the name Farmers Charity Classic.

Winners of the Farmers Charity Classic

1986 — Jim Ferree, 204 (def. Gene Littler, Chi Chi Rodriguez in playoff)
1987 — Billy Casper, 200
1988 — Orville Moody, 203
1989 — John Paul Cain, 203
1990 — Don Massengale, 134 (shortened by weather)
1991 — Harold Henning, 202 (def. Gibby Gilbert in playoff)
1992 — Gibby Gilbert, 202
1993 — George Archer, 199 (def. Jim Colbert, Chi Chi Rodriguez in playoff)
1994 — Tony Jacklin, 136 (shortened by weather)
1995 — Jimmy Powell, 201
1996 — Dave Stockton, 206
1997 — Gil Morgan, 207
1998 — George Archer, 199
1999 — Christy O'Connor Jr., 205
2000 — Larry Nelson, 198
2001 — Larry Nelson, 202
2002 — Jay Sigel, 203
2003 — Doug Tewell, 201
2004 — Jim Thorpe, 203

Golf course: The tournament started at Elks Country Club in Grand Rapids, then moved to The Highlands in Grand Rapids from 1990-93. The remainder of its run, it was played at Egypt Valley Country Club in Ada, Michigan.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List