U.S. Senior Women's Open Winners and Facts

The U.S. Senior Women's Open is a golf tournament conducted by the United States Golf Association (USGA) for top women golfers of ages 50 and over. It is one of 14 USGA championships.

But the U.S. Senior Women's Open is the youngest of those 14 tournaments, created only in 2018. (For comparison, the U.S. Senior Open, the men's equivalent, has existed since 1980.) Below you'll find the winner's list, golf courses played, plus more general information about the tournament.

Winners of the U.S. Senior Women's Open

2023 — Trish Johnson, 284
2022 — Jill McGill, 289
2021 — Annika Sorenstam, 276
2020 — Not played due to COVID-19 pandemic
2019 — Helen Alfredsson, 285
2018 — Laura Davies, 276

Golf Courses: Where They've Played

Like all the USGA championships, the U.S. Women's Senior Open rotates around the United States. It is played on a different golf course each year.

2023 — Waverly Country Club, Portland, Oregon
2022 — NCR Country Club (South Course), Kettering, Ohio
2021 — Brooklawn Country Club, Fairfield, Connecticut
2020 — Not played
2019 — Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club, Southern Pines, North Carolina
2018 — Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, Illinois

U.S. Senior Women's Open Facts

Field size: 120 golfers

Format: The tournament is played at stroke play over 72 holes.

Cut: There is a cut after 36 holes of play to the low 50 scorers (plus any ties).

Playoff format: If necessary, a 2-hole, aggregate-score playoff takes place immediately after conclusion of the scheduled 72 holes.

Who is eligible to play? Any female professional golfer age 50 or older, or any amateur age 50 or over with a handicap index not exceeding 7.4.

Is there qualifying? Yes, like other USGA championships there are exemption categories that get golfers directly into the field and, for those who have not earned an exemption, sectional qualifying tournaments.

Has anyone won the U.S. Women's Amateur, U.S. Women's Open and U.S. Senior Women's Open? No. Only seven golfers so far have even won both the Women's Am and Women's Open. The inaugural champ, Laura Davies, was already a U.S. Women's Open winner, however.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List