AT&T Champions Classic (Ralphs Senior Classic) Golf Tournament

The AT&T Champions Classic was a golf tournament on the Champions Tour that was played for 30 years. One of several other names it was known by through the years was Ralphs Senior Classic. It was always played in Southern California, either in Los Angeles or just north.

First played: 1990

Last played: 2009

Ralphs Senior Classic was the name of the tournament for six years in the 1990s. That was the longest stretch under the same name in the event's history. Mike Hill won the tournament the first time it was played, beating Gary Player by one stroke; Dan Forsman won the last time it was played, beating Don Pooley in a playoff.

Gil Morgan won 25 times on the Champions Tour, and the first of those wins happened here in 1996. Morgan also won in 1997 and 2004, sharing the tournament record for wins with Joe Inman. Inman's wins happened in consecutive years, 1998-2000. At the time, Inman's streak of winning this event three years running tied the Champions Tour record (since broken) for consecutive wins in the same tournament.

John Brodie, who spent 17 years as a quarterback in the NFL and won the NFL Most Valuable Player Award in 1970, won the AT&T Champions Classic in 1991, the second year it was played. It was his only victory as a Champions Tour golfer.

The tournament scoring record of 195 was set by Raymond Floyd in 1992; the event's 18-hole record of 61 was scored by Dale Douglass in 1994. The largest margin of victory was five strokes by Tom Kite (over Morgan) in 2006.

Also known as: The tournament's original name was Security Pacific Senior Classic. After that came Ralphs Senior Classic, Pacific Bell Senior Classic, SBC Senior Classic, SBC Classic, AT&T Classic and, finally, for its last three years, AT&T Champions Classic.

Winners of the AT&T Champions Classic

1990 — Mike Hill, 201
1991 — John Brodie, 200 (def. George Archer, Chi Chi Rodriguez in playoff)
1992 — Raymond Floyd, 195
1993 — Dale Douglass, 196 (def. Jim Dent in playoff)
1994 — Jack Kiefer, 197
1995 — John Bland, 201
1996 — Gil Morgan, 202
1997 — Gil Morgan, 208
1998 — Joe Inman, 202
1999 — Joe Inman, 199
2000 — Joe Inman, 198
2001 — Jim Colbert, 204
2002 — Tom Kite, 212 (def. Tom Watson in playoff)
2003 — Tom Purtzer, 135 (shorted by weather)
2004 — Gil Morgan, 202
2005 — Des Smyth, 211
2006 — Tom Kite, 204
2007 — Tom Purtzer, 206 (def. Loren Roberts in playoff)
2008 — Denis Watson, 209 (def. Brad Bryant, Loren Roberts in playoff)
2009 — Dan Forsman, 205 (def. Don Pooley in playoff)

Golf courses: The original site was Rancho Park Golf Course in Los Angeles, where the first five tournaments were played. After that the event moved to another L.A. course, Wilshire Country Club. From 2001 through the end, it was played north of L.A. in Santa Clarita at Valencia Country Club.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List