Consecutive Rounds in the 60s: The LPGA Tour Record

Who holds the record on the LPGA Tour for longest streak of rounds in the 60s? The record for consecutive sub-70 scores on the LPGA is 14 rounds, and it is shared by two golfers. But one of those golfer's streaks is currently active, so she might, during her next tournament, claim this record by herself.

Annika Sorenstam, 14 Consecutive Rounds in the 60s

Sorenstam's record-setting streak happened during the 2005 LPGA Tour season, during which she won 10 tournaments. Her streak started in the first round of the 2005 Chick-fil-A Charity Championship and ended after the third round of the 2005 LPGA Championship. During her stretch of 14 rounds in a row in the 60s, Sorenstam won three of the tournaments and finished second in the other. These are the tournaments and the scores during Sorenstam's streak:
  • 2005 Chick-fil-A Charity Championship, 67-64-67-67, won
  • 2005 LPGA Corning Classic, 69-68-69-69, second place
  • 2005 ShopRite LPGA Classic, 67-65-64, won
  • 2005 McDonald’s LPGA Championship, 68-67-69, won
Sorenstam's streak ended when she shot 73 in the final round of the LPGA Championship.

Jin Young Ko, 14 Consecutive Rounds in the 60s

Ko tied Sorenstam during the 2021 LPGA Tour season, her streak beginning in the final round of the Evian Championship and continuing through the Founders Cup. Ko won two of the tournaments in her streak, tied for second in another, and was sixth in the other tournament fully contained within the streak. These are the tournaments and the scores during Ko's streak:
  • 2021 Evian Championship, 69 (final round)
  • 2021 Cambia Portland Classic, 69-67-69, won
  • 2021 Walmart NW Arkansas Championship, 68-66-67, tied sixth
  • 2021 ShopRite LPGA Classic, 66-65-69, tied second
  • 2021 Cognizant Founders Cup, 63-68-69-66, won
Ko's streak is in progress as this is written. She also holds the all-time record in golf for most consecutive holes without a bogey.

Related article:

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List