Chick-Fil-A Charity Championship (Former LPGA Tournament)

The Chick-fil-A Charity Championship was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour, played in Georgia from the early 1990s until 2006.

First played: 1992

Last played: 2006

The tournament started as a 72-hole event before switching to 54 holes in its third year. But it eventually went back to four rounds for the last three times it was played. The tournament was hosted by Nancy Lopez, and she won it in 1997. That was Lopez's 48th win on the LPGA Tour and, it turned out, her last.

Annika Sorenstam was the event's only 2-time winner. Sorenstam's winning 265 in 2005 was the tournament's best 72-hole score. The 54-hole scoring record of 200 was set by Se Ri Pak in 2003. The event's 18-hole record was 62, recorded by Barb Mucha in 1999.

Sherri Turner made double-eagles during this tournament twice, becoming the second player in LPGA history to score two albatrosses. It first happened for Turner in 1993, then again in 1998, both times on the on the par-5, 18th hole.

Also known as: In its final year was called the Florida's Natural Charity Championship Hosted by Nancy Lopez; earlier names included SEGA Women's Championship and Atlanta Women's Championship.

Winners of the Chick-fil-A Charity Championship

2006 — Sung Ah Kim, 272
2005 — Annika Sorenstam, 265
2004 — Jennifer Rosales, 274
2003 — Se Ri Pak, 200
2002 — Juli Inkster, 132 (shortened to 36 holes by weather)
2001 — Annika Sorenstam, 203
2000 — Sophie Gustafson, 206
1999 — Rachel Hetherington, 204
1998 — Liselotte Neumann, 202
1997 — Nancy Lopez, 137 (shorted to 36 holes by weather)
1996 — Barb Mucha, 208
1995 — Laura Davies, 201
1994 — Val Skinner, 206
1993 — Trish Johnson, 282
1992 — Dottie Pepper, 277

Golf Courses: The most frequent site was the Eagle's Landing Country Club in Stockbridge, Ga.

Popular posts from this blog