1994 Masters Tournament Winner and Scores

Jose Maria Olazabal became a first-time major championship winner at the 1994 Masters, which was the 58th edition of the tournament. Olazabal leapfrogged Tom Lehman to claim the victory. Lehman led Ollie by one entering the final round, but Olazabal shot 69 to Lehman's 72 in Round 4.

Winner: Jose Maria Olazabal, 279

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 7-10, 1994

Leader after first round: Larry Mize, 68

Leader after second round: Larry Mize, 139

Leader after third round: Tom Lehman, 209

What Happened at the 1994 Masters Tournament

Jose Maria Olazabal was known throughout his career as a great scrambler, much like his friend and fellow Spaniard Seve Ballesteros. And in 1994, Olazabal joined Ballesteros as a Masters champion by displaying that scrambling ability, along with a great putting stroke. The Masters' official tournament history explained: "During the 72 holes, Olazabal had 30 one-putts, chipped in twice and was six for six in sand saves."

Olazabal had two wins on the PGA Tour and 14 on the European Tour when he arrived at Augusta National in 1994. He was also very well known for his Ryder Cup play. But this was his first win in a major championship. He went on to win a second Green Jacket at the 1999 Masters.

Olazabal opened with a 74, six off the pace set by 1987 Masters champ Larry Mize. A second-round 67 jumped Olazabal into a tie for fifth place, two behind leader Mize. In the third round round Olazabal carded a 69, moving into second place, one stroke behind Tom Lehman. Mize dropped to third.

In the final round, Lehman played solidly, shooting even-par 72. But Olazabal posted a 69 — including an eagle on the par-5 15th hole — to overtake Lehman and win the Green Jacket. Mize finished in third, three behind the winner.

Olazabal, Lehman were Mize were tied for the lead after the front nine, but Mize fell off the pace with three bogeys over the back nine. Lehman bogeyed No. 12 and missed a putt to match Olazabal's eagle on the 15th.

Olazabal's scrambling was on display on the final hole of the tournament, too, when he hit his approach shot to the green into the crowd. But he managed to get up-and-down for par (and had some room to work with since Lehman bogeyed the 18th, too).

Olazabal was the second Spaniard to win The Masters, after 2-time champ Ballesteros. Ballesteros started strong himself with a first-round 70, just two behind the leader, but finished tied for 18th. (It was Ballesteros' last Top 20 finish in a Masters.)

This was the first Masters since 1954 in which neither Arnold Palmer nor Jack Nicklaus played the weekend. Both missed the cut.

1994 Masters Final Scores

Jose Maria Olazabal 74-67-69-69—279
Tom Lehman 70-70-69-72—281
Larry Mize 68-71-72-71—282
Tom Kite 69-72-71-71—283
Loren Roberts 75-68-72-70—285
Jim McGovern 72-70-71-72—285
Jay Haas 72-72-72-69—285
Ernie Els 74-67-74-71—286
Corey Pavin 71-72-73-70—286
Ian Baker-Finch 71-71-71-74—287
Raymond Floyd 70-74-71-72—287
John Huston 72-72-74-69—287
Tom Watson 70-71-73-74—288
Dan Forsman 74-66-76-73—289
Mark O'Meara 75-70-76-70—291
Chip Beck 71-71-75-74—291
Brad Faxon 71-73-73-74—291
Hale Irwin 73-68-79-72—292
Bill Glasson 72-73-75-72—292
Seve Ballesteros 70-76-75-71—292
Lanny Wadkins 73-74-73-72—292
David Edwards 73-72-73-74—292
Greg Norman 70-70-75-77—292
Ben Crenshaw 74-73-73-72—292
Jeff Sluman 74-75-71-73—293
Bernhard Langer 74-74-72-73—293
Curtis Strange 74-70-75-75—294
Scott Simpson 74-74-73-73—294
Vijay Singh 70-75-74-75—294
Craig Parry 75-74-73-73—295
Lee Janzen 75-71-76-73—295
Nick Faldo 76-73-73-74—296
Sam Torrance 76-73-74-74—297
Russ Cochran 71-74-74-78—297
Fuzzy Zoeller 74-72-74-78—298
David Frost 74-71-75-78—298
Nick Price 74-73-74-77—298
Fred Funk 79-70-75-75—299
Fulton Allem 69-77-76-77—299
Sandy Lyle 75-73-78-73—299
Mike Standly 77-69-79-75—300
Wayne Grady 74-73-73-80—300
Andrew Magee 74-74-76-76—300
Hajime Meshiai 71-71-80-78—300
Costantino Rocca 79-70-78-73—300
John Cook 77-72-77-75—301
Ian Woosnam 76-73-77-75—301
John Daly 76-73-77-78—304
Howard Twitty 73-76-74-81—304
a-John Harris 72-76-80-77—305
Jeff Maggert 75-73-82-75—305

Previous and next:
1993 Masters - 1995 Masters

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List