1992 PGA Championship Results

The 1992 PGA Championship was the 74th time the tournament was played. The winner came from two behind the first-, second- and third-round leader to earn the first of his three career wins in major championships.

Winner: Nick Price, 278

Where it was played: Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis, Missouri

Tournament dates: August 13-16, 1992

Leader after first round: Craig Stadler and Gene Sauers, 67

Leader after second round: Gene Sauers, 136

Leader after third round: Gene Sauers, 206

What Happened at the 1992 PGA Championship

Gene Sauers shared or held the lead the first three days, but it was Nick Price who won the championship on the fourth day. Price, who started Round 4 two strokes behind Sauers, shot 70 to Sauers' 75, and won by three strokes.

Price held off a quartet of pursuers to win the tournament. Among the four golfers who finished tied for second place, only Nick Faldo made up ground on Price in the final round. But Faldo also started the day farther back than the other eventual runners-up.

Price started the final round with nine consecutive pars, while Sauers was giving up strokes (Sauers was among those who finished second). Then Price sank a pair of late birdies, rolling in putts for birdie on the 70th and 71st holes.

Price had contended in majors before, posting eight Top 10s (including two earlier in the year) and finishing second in the British Open twice. But this tournament was his first win in a major. It was his fourth overall win on the PGA Tour. Price finished his career with 18 total PGA Tour wins, including additional majors at the 1994 British Open and 1994 PGA Championship.

The previous year, in the 1991 PGA Championship, Price withdrew at the last minute and that allowed John Daly to get into the field. Daly went on to win that 1991 PGA. But as the defending champion this year, Daly finished near the bottom among those who made the cut.

Two-time PGA Championship winner Vijay Singh played the tournament for the first time this year, finishing tied for 48th. Future four-time major winner Ernie Els also played his first PGA Championship here, missing the cut.

1992 PGA Championship Final Scores

Nick Price 70-70-68-70—278
John Cook 71-72-67-71—281
Nick Faldo 68-70-76-67—281
Jim Gallagher Jr. 72-66-72-71—281
Gene Sauers 67-69-70-75—281
Jeff Maggert 71-72-65-74—282
Russ Cochran 69-69-76-69—283
Dan Forsman 70-73-70-70—283
Brian Claar 68-73-73-70—284
Anders Forsbrand 73-71-70-70—284
Duffy Waldorf 74-73-68-69—284
Billy Andrade 72-71-70-72—285
Corey Pavin 71-73-70-71—285
Jeff Sluman 73-71-72-69—285
Mark Brooks 71-72-68-75—286
Brad Faxon 72-69-75-70—286
Greg Norman 71-74-71-70—286
Steve Elkington 74-70-71-72—287
Rick Fehr 74-73-71-69—287
John Huston 73-75-71-68—287
Bill Britton 70-77-70-71—288
Fred Couples 69-73-73-73—288
Lee Janzen 74-71-72-71—288
Tom Kite 73-73-69-73—288
Gil Morgan 71-69-73-75—288
Tommy Nakajima 71-75-69-73—288
Tom Purtzer 72-72-74-70—288
Mike Hulbert 74-74-70-71—289
Peter Jacobsen 73-71-72-73—289
Larry Nelson 72-68-75-74—289
Joe Ozaki 76-72-74-67—289
Tom Wargo 72-72-73-72—289
Paul Azinger 72-73-68-77—290
Brad Fabel 72-76-74-68—290
Bruce Fleisher 70-72-75-73—290
Davis Love III 77-71-70-72—290
Colin Montgomerie 72-76-69-73—290
Frank Nobilo 69-74-74-73—290
Dillard Pruitt 73-70-73-74—290
Fulton Allem 74-72-72-73—291
Billy Ray Brown 72-75-72-72—291
David Edwards 74-70-77-70—291
Mark James 75-72-72-72—291
Bernhard Langer 72-74-72-73—291
Rocco Mediate 72-68-74-77—291
Larry Mize 74-74-71-72—291
Lanny Wadkins 72-71-73-75—291
Brad Bryant 75-71-73-73—292
Mark Calcavecchia 74-69-74-75—292
Raymond Floyd 69-75-69-79—292
Steve Pate 70-78-70-74—292
Steven Richardson 73-66-75-78—292
Peter Senior 71-76-73-72—292
Vijay Singh 70-73-73-76—292
Craig Stadler 67-72-75-78—292
Keith Clearwater 73-72-74-74—293
Gary Hallberg 71-72-72-78—293
Andrew Magee 74-71-74-74—293
Lee Rinker 72-75-73-73—293
Joey Sindelar 72-75-75-71—293
Bob Tway 74-73-72-74—293
Jay Haas 75-73-74-72—294
Blaine McCallister 73-75-76-70—294
Jay Overton 73-73-76-72—294
Tom Watson 72-71-73-78—294
Hale Irwin 71-77-72-75—295
James Kane 72-73-76-74—295
Roger Mackay 76-72-71-76—295
Ian Baker-Finch 71-75-78-72—296
David Peoples 75-73-74-74—296
Ted Schulz 75-71-74-76—296
Payne Stewart 76-69-79-72—296
Ben Crenshaw 75-71-78-74—298
David Frost 72-76-77-73—298
Bruce Lietzke 75-70-80-73—298
Jay Don Blake 68-77-79-76—300
Bob Estes 69-78-77-76—300
Steve Veriato 70-73-77-80—300
Robert Gamez 69-75-82-77—303
Scott Gump 71-72-78-82—303
Todd Smith 75-73-79-76—303
John Daly 76-72-79-77—304
Harold Perry 74-74-78-79—305
Neal Lancaster 75-72-79-81—307
Ken McDonald 78-69-78-82—307

Previous and next:
1991 PGA Championship - 1993 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog