Tampa Women's Open Golf Tournament (LPGA Tour)

The Tampa Women's Open was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour in the tour's early days. In fact, this event pre-dates the founding of the LPGA, which happened in 1950. The tournament ran from the late 1940s until 1960.

The 1950 Tampa Women's Open has the distinction of being the first official LPGA tournament ever played. An amateur, Polly Riley, won it. The first of Babe Zaharias' three wins here was when she was an amateur. Betsy Rawls won the most titles, with four. ... Ruth Jessen's first career LPGA win happened here in 1959.

First played: 1947

Last played: 1960

Winners of the Tampa Women's Open
1960 — Mickey Wright
1959 — Ruth Jessen
1958 — Betsy Rawls
1957 — Betsy Rawls
1956 — Betsy Rawls
1955 — Babe Zaharias
1954 — Betsy Rawls
1953 — Louise Suggs
1952 — Louise Suggs
1951 — Babe Zaharias
1950 — a-Polly Riley
1949 — Patty Berg
1948 — Betty Jameson
1947 — a-Babe Zaharias

Golf Courses: Palma Ceia Golf & Country Club in Tampa, Fla.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List