1991 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1991 PGA Championship was the 73rd time the tournament was played. A golfer who was the last player into the field became the unlikely winner: Long-bombing, mullet-sporting John Daly.

Winner: John Daly, 276

Where it was played: Crooked Stick Golf Club in Carmel, Indiana

Tournament dates: August 8-11, 1991

Leader after first round: Kenny Knox and Ian Woosnam, 67

Leader after second round: John Daly, 136

Leader after third round: John Daly, 205

What Happened in the 1991 PGA Championship

John Daly burst onto the scene at the 1991 PGA Championship bombing drives and going for broke. He wound up the unlikely champion, but his week began with the grip-it-and-rip-it, young, (then-)unknown player unsure if he'd even make the field.

Daly wasn't in the original field list, but he was the ninth alternate. And players kept withdrawing. Finally, Nick Price, whose wife was having a baby, withdrew. And after three other alternates couldn't make it to the tournament site in time, Daly got the call to take Price's place.

Daly didn't even have time to get in a practice round, but he opened with a 69. After a second-round 67, Daly took the lead. He also gained his first notoriety along with the lead, all the attention focusing on the little-known, long-hitting Arkansan.

Daly's have-to-see-it-to-believe-it backswing drew everyone's attention, even that of Jack Nicklaus. Seeing Daly here for the first time, Nicklaus remarked: "Good gracious, what a coil, what an unleashing of power. I don't know who he reminds me of. I haven't seen anybody who hit the ball that far."

Most observers thought Daly would soon crumble, but he carded a 69 in the third round and finished the day with a four-stroke lead over veteran Bruce Lietzke.

Daly and Lietzke played in the final pairing together in Round 4, with Lietzke outdriven by 50 yards every time. Before the round, Lietzke surmised that hitting first into every green might allow him to put some pressure on the unproven Daly. It didn't work. Lietzke shot 70 in the final round, but Daly had a 71 and a 3-stroke victory.

It was the first of Daly's five career wins on the PGA Tour. He went on to win a second major at the 1995 British Open.

Two-time PGA Championship winner Dave Stockton played the tournament for the final time this year, missing the cut.

The tournament was marred by tragedy, too, unfortunately. During a weather delay in the first round, a spectator perished after being struck by lightning.

1991 PGA Championship Final Scores

John Daly 69-67-69-71—276
Bruce Lietzke 68-69-72-70—279
Jim Gallagher Jr. 70-72-72-67—281
Kenny Knox 67-71-70-74—282
Bob Gilder 73-70-67-73—283
Steven Richardson 70-72-72-69—283
David Feherty 71-74-71-68—284
Raymond Floyd 69-74-72-69—284
John Huston 70-72-70-72—284
Steve Pate 70-75-70-69—284
Craig Stadler 68-71-69-76—284
Hal Sutton 74-67-72-71—284
Jay Don Blake 75-70-72-68—285
Andrew Magee 69-73-68-75—285
Payne Stewart 74-70-71-70—285
Nick Faldo 70-69-71-76—286
Ken Green 68-73-71-74—286
Wayne Levi 73-71-72-70—286
Sandy Lyle 68-75-71-72—286
Rocco Mediate 71-71-73-71—286
Gil Morgan 70-71-74-71—286
Howard Twitty 70-71-75-70—286
Seve Ballesteros 71-72-71-73—287
Chip Beck 73-73-70-71—287
Mike Hulbert 72-72-73-70—287
Jack Nicklaus 71-72-73-71—287
Fred Couples 74-67-76-71—288
Rick Fehr 70-73-71-74—288
Jim Hallet 69-74-73-72—288
Mark McNulty 75-71-69-73—288
Loren Roberts 72-74-72-70—288
Billy Andrade 73-74-68-74—289
Mark Calcavecchia 70-74-73-72—289
David Edwards 71-75-71-72—289
Steve Elkington 74-68-74-73—289
Dan Forsman 73-74-68-74—289
Davis Love III 72-72-72-73—289
Jodie Mudd 74-71-74-70—289
Greg Norman 70-74-72-73—289
Corey Pavin 72-73-71-73—289
Tom Purtzer 69-76-71-73—289
Doug Tewell 75-72-74-68—289
Ed Dougherty 75-70-69-76—290
Wayne Grady 72-70-71-77—290
Scott Hoch 71-75-72-72—290
Craig Parry 73-70-76-71—290
Lanny Wadkins 71-74-72-73—290
Keith Clearwater 72-72-76-71—291
Brad Faxon 72-71-76-72—291
David Frost 74-70-75-72—291
Ian Woosnam 67-72-76-76—291
David Graham 72-73-73-74—292
Tom Kite 73-72-75-72—292
Mark McCumber 74-72-71-75—292
Eduardo Romero 72-75-73-72—292
Tom Sieckmann 68-76-74-74—292
Fred Funk 71-69-72-81—293
Nolan Henke 74-70-75-74—293
Blaine McCallister 71-76-77-69—293
Lindy Miller 72-72-77-72—293
Dave Barr 75-72-76-71—294
Jeff Sluman 73-73-74-74—294
Gene Sauers 75-71-70-79—295
Joey Sindelar 74-73-71-77—295
Bob Wolcott 73-71-79-72—295
Dillard Pruitt 72-75-73-76—296
Bob Tway 73-71-78-74—296
Mark Wiebe 72-73-73-78—296
Scott Williams 70-77-76-73—296
Denny Hepler 71-75-75-76—297
Lonnie Nielsen 74-71-74-78—297
David Peoples 74-73-75-75—297
Phil Blackmar 73-72-82-71—298
Billy Ray Brown 69-75-79-75—298
Hale Irwin 70-76-74-78—298
Don Pooley 72-74-72-80—298
Kenny Perry 72-73-79-76—300

Previous and next:
1990 PGA Championship - 1992 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List