B.C. Open, Former PGA Tour Tournament

The B.C. Open is a former tournament on the PGA Tour, played from the early 1970s though the mid 2000-aughts. The "B.C." in the title stands for Broome County, that being the county in New York where the tournament was played. It also refers to the B.C. comic strip, drawn by Broome County native Johnny Hart.

First played: 1973

Last played: 2006

In 1975, 63-year-old Sam Snead became the second-oldest golfer to post a Top 10 PGA Tour finish when he came in eighth. ... In the 2001 tournament, Paul Gow ripped off 32 birdies during the tournament, tying the PGA Tour record at the time. But he didn't win — he lost to Jeff Sluman in a playoff. ... When Craig Stadler won in 2003, he became, at the time, just the fifth golfer in PGA Tour history age 50 or older to win. He also became the second golfer to win on both the PGA Tour and Champions Tour in the same year, having already won that year on the senior tour.

The last six years it was played, the B.C. Open was an opposite-field tournament, played the same week as the British Open. ... The tournament scoring record of 24-under par 264 was set by Jason Bohn in the event's second-to-last year. ... Brad Faxon and Joey Sindelar were the only multiple winners, each winning twice. Faxon's two victories were in back-to-back years.

Also known as: It was the B.C. Open every year it was part of the PGA Tour. The tournament actually dates to 1971, when it was named the Broome County Open, but only became a PGA Tour event beginning in 1973.

Winners of the B.C. Open

2006 — John Rollins
2005 — Jason Bohn
2004 — Jonathan Byrd
2003 — Craig Stadler
2002 — Spike McRoy
2001 — Jeff Sluman
2000 — Brad Faxon
1999 — Brad Faxon
1998 — Chris Perry
1997 — Gabriel Hjertstedt
1996 — Fred Funk
1995 — Hal Sutton
1994 — Mike Sullivan
1993 — Blaine McCallister
1992 — John Daly
1991 — Fred Couples
1990 — Nolan Henke
1989 — Mike Hulbert
1988 — Bill Glasson
1987 — Joey Sindelar
1986 — Rick Fehr
1985 — Joey Sindelar
1984 — Wayne Levi
1983 — Pat Lindsey
1982 — Calvin Peete
1981 — Jay Haas
1980 — Don Pooley
1979 — Howard Twitty
1978 — Tom Kite
1977 — Gil Morgan
1976 — Bob Wynn
1975 — Don Iverson
1974 — Richie Karl
1973 — Hubert Green

Golf Courses: The home course throughout the event's history, with one exception, was En-Joie Golf Course in Endicott, N.Y. The one exception was the tournament's final year, when flooding forced the event away from En-Joie and to Turning Stone Resort & Casino in Verona. Ironically, after the B.C. Open ended following the 2006 event, Turning Stone became the site of a different PGA Tour tournament the next year, and later a Champions Tour event.

Popular posts from this blog