1985 PGA Championship Results

The 1985 PGA Championship was the 67th edition of the tournament. Hubert Green made this tournament his final win on the PGA Tour.

Winner: Hubert Green, 278

Where it was played: Cherry Hills Country Club in Cherry Hills Village, Colorado

Tournament dates: August 8-11, 1985

Leader after first round: Doug Tewell, 67

Leader after second round: Lee Trevino, 134

Leader after third round: Hubert Green, 206

What Happened at the 1985 PGA Championship

Hubert Green was a bit of a surprise winner at the 1985 PGA Championship, not because he was a player without a pedigree — he was an 18-time PGA Tour winner and a U.S. Open champ by this point — but because he'd missed as many cuts as he had made during the PGA Tour year leading up to this major.

But he put his game together at the right time. Green took the lead away from defending champ Lee Trevino in the third round, when he shot 70 to Trevino's 75. Green led by three strokes as the fourth round began.

Trevino made a move early in the final round with an eagle on the fifth hole and took a 1-shot lead. But over the remainder of his round Trevino had six bogeys. Although Trevino and Green were still tied after 14 holes, Trevino then bogeyed the 15th and 17th holes. In the final round, Trevino shot 71 to Green's 72, but it wasn't enough.

It was Green's second and final win in a major championship — he also won the 1977 U.S. Open — and his 19th and last PGA Tour win. For Trevino, this was his last Top 10 finish in the PGA Championship and his last Top 3 finish in any major.

The 1985 PGA Championship was also the last one played by Gary Player, who missed the cut. Two of Player's nine career majors were in the PGA: He won the 1962 PGA Championship and 1972 PGA Championship.

Al Geiberger, winner of the 1966 PGA Championship, made the cut for the final time in this or any other major, tying for 74th place. At the other end of his career, Paul Azinger, winner of the 1993 PGA Championship, played this major for the first time and missed the cut.

1985 PGA Championship Final Scores

Hubert Green 67-69-70-72—278
Lee Trevino 66-68-75-71—280
Andy Bean 71-70-72-68—281
T.M. Chen 69-76-71-65—281
Nick Price 73-73-65-71—282
Buddy Gardner 73-73-70-67—283
Tom Watson 67-70-74-72—283
Corey Pavin 66-75-73-69—283
Fred Couples 70-65-76-72—283
Lanny Wadkins 70-69-73-72—284
Peter Jacobsen 66-71-75-72—284
Scott Hoch 70-73-73-69—285
Scott Simpson 72-68-72-73—285
Payne Stewart 72-72-73-68—285
Dan Pohl 72-74-69-70—285
Tom Kite 69-75-71-70—285
Doug Tewell 64-72-77-72—285
Bruce Lietzke 70-74-72-70—286
Wayne Levi 72-69-74-71—286
Craig Stadler 72-73-74-67—286
Bob Gilder 73-70-74-69—286
Calvin Peete 69-72-75-70—286
Larry Mize 71-70-73-73—287
Larry Nelson 70-74-71-72—287
Willie Wood 71-73-74-69—287
T.C. Chen 73-74-74-66—287
John Mahaffey 74-73-71-69—287
Roger Maltbie 69-73-72-74—288
Joey Sindelar 71-75-71-71—288
Mark O'Meara 71-76-71-70—288
Gil Morgan 69-77-72-70—288
Hale Irwin 71-73-72-73—289
Jack Nicklaus 66-75-74-74—289
David Graham 75-70-69-75—289
Bernhard Langer 69-72-76-72—289
Donnie Hammond 71-76-73-69—289
Seve Ballesteros 73-72-68-76—289
Dave Barr 71-74-72-73—290
Jay Haas 71-75-74-70—290
Woody Blackburn 72-71-74-74—291
Denis Watson 74-73-74-70—291
Frank Conner 71-73-72-75—291
Bobby Nichols 75-71-75-70—291
Tim Norris 71-70-74-76—291
Mark Pfeil 70-70-74-77—291
Billy Kratzert 72-71-78-70—291
Danny Edwards 67-76-73-76—292
George Archer 72-71-73-76—292
David Ogrin 76-70-76-70—292
Mark Lye 70-72-77-73—292
Lon Hinkle 70-75-76-72—293
Ed Fiori 70-76-76-71—293
Howard Twitty 70-77-74-72—293
Fuzzy Zoeller 71-73-75-75—294
Brett Upper 72-74-73-75—294
Bill Glasson 71-76-74-73—294
Nick Faldo 70-77-73-74—294
Morris Hatalsky 68-74-72-80—294
Gary Hallberg 73-74-74-74—295
Ben Crenshaw 73-72-75-75—295
Dave Stockton 72-72-77-74—295
Don Pooley 70-71-76-79—296
Bob Murphy 73-71-80-72—296
Mike Donald 73-72-80-71—296
Arnold Palmer 75-72-75-76—298
Ron Streck 70-76-77-75—298
Hal Sutton 69-75-76-78—298
D.A. Weibring 72-71-77-78—298
Phil Blackmar 71-74-83-70—298
Mike Reid 72-75-75-77—299
Mark McNulty 74-73-77-75—299
Robert Hoyt 73-74-76-77—300
Kevin Morris 72-74-78-77—301
David Glenz 75-72-76-79—302
Al Geiberger 74-73-80-75—302
Mike Smith 71-76-83-75—305

Previous and next:
1984 PGA Championship - 1986 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List