1957 Masters Winner and Scores

The 1957 Masters was the 21st time the tournament was played — but the first time it was played with a cut after the second round. The winner caught and passed Sam Snead in the final round.

Winner: Doug Ford, 283

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 4-7, 1957

Leader after first round: Jack Burke Jr., 71

Leader after second round: Sam Snead, 140

Leader after third round: Sam Snead, 214

What Happened at the 1957 Masters Tournament

Doug Ford first played The Masters in 1952, and he last played it in 2001. That's 49 times playing The Masters, which was the tournament record for most appearances until Arnold Palmer hit 50 in 2004. In 2009, Gary Player played in his 52nd Masters, which is the current record. And who made his Masters Tournament debut this year? Player, a future 3-time champ, tied for 24th in his Masters debut.

But at the 1957 Masters, Doug Ford was the champion. He did it by coming from three strokes behind leader Sam Snead at the start of the final round, shooting 66 to Snead's 72, to win by three. Ford had zero bogeys in his final round and six birdies, including on four of the final seven holes. One of them was a hole-out from a bunker on the 18th.

Snead had held a one-stroke lead after third round over Palmer, amateur Harvie Ward and Stan Leonard. In the final round, Ward shot 73 (and tied fourth), Palmer 76 (and tied seventh), and Leonard 78 (and tied 11th). Palmer won the first of his four Masters titles the following year.

It was the second major championship win of Ford's career. He won 19 PGA Tour events total, including the 1955 PGA Championship.

The 1957 Masters was the first one to have a 36-hole cut. Among those who missed this very first Masters cut was Ben Hogan, who was so upset over his putting woes that afterward he suggested eliminating putting from golf. This was Hogan's only missed cut in The Masters.

1957 Masters Final Scores

Doug Ford 72-73-72-66—283
Sam Snead 72-68-74-72—286
Jimmy Demaret 72-70-75-70—287
a-Harvie Ward Jr. 73-71-71-73—288
Peter Thomson 72-73-73-71—289
Ed Furgol 73-71-72-74—290
Jack Burke Jr. 71-72-74-74—291
Dow Finsterwald 74-74-73-70—291
Arnold Palmer 73-73-69-76—291
Jay Hebert 74-72-76-70—292
Marty Furgol 73-74-73-73—293
Stan Leonard 75-72-68-78—293
Henry Cotton 73-73-72-76—294
a-Bud Taylor 74-74-77-69—294
Ken Venturi 74-76-74-70—294
Al Balding 73-73-73-76—295
Billy Casper 75-75-75-70—295
Mike Fetchick 74-73-72-76—295
Fred Hawkins 75-74-72-74—295
Byron Nelson 74-72-73-76—295
Bruce Crampton 72-75-78-71—296
Al Mengert 75-75-71-75—296
Henry Ransom 75-73-72-76—296
Johnny Palmer 77-73-73-74—297
Gary Player 77-72-75-73—297
Jerry Barber 73-77-78-70—298
Jack Fleck 76-74-75-73—298
Bill Johnston 77-70-78-74—299
Lawson Little 76-72-77-74—299
Lloyd Mangrum 77-71-74-77—299
Skee Riegel 73-74-78-75—300
Doug Sanders 76-72-75-77—300
Bud Ward 73-75-76-76—300
a-Rex Baxter 79-71-73-78—301
Dick Mayer 80-70-75-77—302
Henry Picard 79-71-78-74—302
Sam Urzetta 74-73-78-77—302
a-Don Cherry 78-72-76-77—303
Claude Harmon 78-72-77-76—303
a-Hillman Robbins 77-73-74-80—304

Previous and next:
1956 Masters - 1958 Masters

Popular posts from this blog