1984 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1984 PGA Championship was the 66th edition of the tournament and the site of Lee Trevino's final win in a major championship.

Winner: Lee Trevino, 273

Where it was played: Shoal Creek Golf and Country Club in Birmingham, Alabama

Tournament dates: August 16-19, 1984

Leader after first round: Lanny Wadkins, Mike Reid and Raymond Floyd, 68

Leader after second round: Gary Player, Lanny Wadkins and Lee Trevino, 137

Leader after third round: Lee Trevino, 204

What Happened in the 1984 PGA Championship

In the second round of the 1984 PGA Championship, 48-year-old Gary Player tied the tournament and then-major championship scoring record of 63. But at the end of the fourth round, 44-year-old Lee Trevino held the trophy.

With four rounds in the 60s, Trevino was the first PGA Championship winner to post four rounds under 70. His 15-under score in relation to par was the lowest in tournament history to that point — the previous had been 10-under, and Trevino's new record stood until the 1995 PGA Championship. It was Trevino's first win of any kind in three years as he had struggled with back pain. But it was also the last of his 29 career wins on the PGA Tour, the last of his six wins in major championships.

Trevino, Player and Lanny Wadkins, all former PGA Championship winners, shared the 36-hole lead. Player got there by firing a second-round 63 which, at the time, tied the all-time lowest score in a major championship. With a 67 in the third round, Trevino grabbed the solo lead, one stroke ahead of Wadkins and two ahead of Player.

In the final round, Trevino gradually put a little distance between himself and the other two, shooting 69 to Wadkins' 72 and Player's 71. Wadkins and Player wound up tied for second, four strokes short of Trevino's winning total. For Player, this was his final Top 20 finish in any major. He played the PGA Championship only once more after this. At the time of his victory, Trevino was the third-oldest winner of a PGA Championship.

Dow Finsterwald, winner of the 1958 PGA Championship (the first one that used stroke play rather than match play), missed the cut in his final appearance in any of the major championships.

1984 PGA Championship Final Scores

Lee Trevino 69-68-67-69—273
Lanny Wadkins 68-69-68-72—277
Gary Player 74-63-69-71—277
Calvin Peete 71-70-69-68—278
Seve Ballesteros 70-69-70-70—279
Gary Hallberg 69-71-68-72—280
Scott Simpson 69-69-72-70—280
Larry Mize 71-69-67-73—280
Hal Sutton 74-73-64-69—280
Victor Regalado 69-69-73-70—281
Russ Cochran 73-68-73-67—281
Tommy Nakajima 72-68-67-74—281
Raymond Floyd 68-71-69-74—282
Mike Reid 68-72-72-71—283
Hubert Green 70-74-66-73—283
Donnie Hammond 70-69-71-74—284
Andy Bean 69-75-70-70—284
Peter Jacobsen 70-72-72-71—285
Craig Stadler 71-73-73-68—285
Keith Fergus 72-72-72-70—286
John Mahaffey 72-72-72-70—286
Nick Faldo 69-73-74-70—286
Corey Pavin 73-72-74-67—286
Fred Couples 72-72-75-67—286
Doug Tewell 72-71-71-73—287
Tim Simpson 73-70-72-72—287
Hale Irwin 71-70-74-72—287
Rex Caldwell 71-71-74-71—287
Jim Colbert 71-72-74-70—287
Mark O'Meara 75-69-71-72—287
Chip Beck 69-77-70-71—287
Jack Nicklaus 77-70-71-69—287
Denis Watson 73-68-74-73—288
Ronnie Black 74-70-74-71—289
Tom Kite 74-72-74-69—289
Don Pooley 70-73-75-71—289
Bob Gilder 70-74-73-73—290
David Edwards 72-71-72-75—290
Dave Stockton 73-74-71-73—291
George Cadle 74-71-73-73—291
Richard Zokol 74-74-70-73—291
Tom Watson 74-72-74-71—291
Greg Norman 75-72-73-71—291
Allen Miller 72-72-71-76—291
Danny Edwards 72-76-72-71—291
Jay Haas 70-69-75-77—291
Dan Pohl 71-70-73-77—291
Mark McCumber 73-74-73-72—292
Mike Donald 74-72-75-71—292
Scott Hoch 75-73-70-74—292
Jack Renner 73-69-78-72—292
Leonard Thompson 70-71-71-80—292
David Graham 71-72-80-69—292
Mark Lye 74-74-73-72—293
Nick Price 73-74-71-75—293
Gary McCord 73-73-76-71—293
Gary Koch 74-73-70-76—293
Dave Barr 69-79-73-73—294
Jim Thorpe 74-73-75-73—295
Larry Rinker 75-73-74-73—295
Joe Inman 73-73-73-76—295
Tony Sills 74-74-73-75—296
Scott Bess 69-76-76-75—296
Joey Sindelar 72-76-73-75—296
Roger Maltbie 72-75-76-74—297
Bruce Lietzke 73-75-73-76—297
Jim Albus 75-71-74-77—297
Mike Sullivan 76-72-79-70—297
D.A. Weibring 76-72-74-76—298
Lon Hinkle 74-72-72-81—299

Previous and next:
1983 PGA Championship - 1985 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog