1990 British Open Winner and Scores

The 1990 British Open was the 119th time the tournament was played. The champ earned his second of three victories here.

Winner: Nick Faldo, 270

Where it was played: The Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland

Tournament dates: July 19-22, 1990

Leader after first round: Greg Norman and Michael Allen, 66

Leader after second round: Nick Faldo and Greg Norman, 132, 138

Leader after third round: Nick Faldo, 199

What Happened in the 1990 Open Championship

A record-setting run at St. Andrews earned Nick Faldo his second major championship title of the year. He won the 1990 Masters a couple months earlier, then set a new scoring record in relation to par — 18-under (later bettered) — to win the 1990 British Open. For Faldo, it was his second Open Championship title and his fourth overall major. He finished his career with six wins in majors, including a third Open in 1992.

Faldo opened 67-65-67 by doing it the Faldo way: Hitting it where he meant to hit it. Fairways and greens.

In the final round, the only chaser to mount a challenge was Payne Stewart, who got within two strokes of the lead. But Stewart's chances died in the appropriately named Coffin bunkers on the 12th hole. Ian Baker-Finch, after a third-round 64, was tied with Stewart in second place at the start of the final round. But he closed with a 73 and fell into a tie for sixth. Baker-Finch won The Open the following year.

Faldo cruised to a final round of 71 and a five-stroke victory over runners-up Stewart and Mark McNulty. Greg Norman was tied for the lead with Faldo at the halfway point of the tournament, but a third-round 76 knocked him out. Norman finished tied for sixth place.

Arnold Palmer, winner of the 1961 and 1962 British Opens, played this major for the second-to-last time.

1990 British Open Final Scores

Nick Faldo 67-65-67-71—270
Mark McNulty 74-68-68-65—275
Payne Stewart 68-68-68-71—275
Jodie Mudd 72-66-72-66—276
Ian Woosnam 68-69-70-69—276
Ian Baker-Finch 68-72-64-73—277
Greg Norman 66-66-76-69—277
David Graham 72-71-70-66—279
Donnie Hammond 70-71-68-70—279
Steve Pate 70-68-72-69—279
Corey Pavin 71-69-68-71—279
Paul Broadhurst 74-69-63-74—280
Robert Gamez 70-72-67-71—280
Tim Simpson 70-69-69-72—280
Vijay Singh 70-69-72-69—280
Peter Jacobsen 68-70-70-73—281
Steve Jones 72-67-72-70—281
Sandy Lyle 72-70-67-72—281
Frank Nobilo 72-67-68-74—281
Jose Maria Olazabal 71-67-71-72—281
Mark Roe 71-70-72-68—281
Eamonn Darcy 71-71-72-68—282
Craig Parry 68-68-69-77—282
Jamie Spence 72-65-73-72—282
Fred Couples 71-70-70-72—283
Christy O'Connor Jr. 68-72-71-72—283
Nick Price 70-67-71-75—283
Jose Rivero 70-70-70-73—283
Jeff Sluman 72-70-70-71—283
Lee Trevino 69-70-73-71—283
Ben Crenshaw 74-69-68-73—284
Vicente Fernandez 72-67-69-76—284
Mark James 73-69-70-72—284
Mark McCumber 69-74-69-72—284
Larry Mize 71-72-70-71—284
Bryan Norton 71-72-68-73—284
Greg Powers 74-69-69-72—284
Ronan Rafferty 70-71-73-70—284
Derrick Cooper 72-71-69-73—285
Raymond Floyd 72-71-71-71—285
Mike Hulbert 70-70-70-75—285
Andy North 71-71-72-71—285
Joe Ozaki 71-71-74-69—285
Don Pooley 70-73-71-71—285
Mike Reid 70-67-73-75—285
Scott Simpson 73-70-69-73—285
Sam Torrance 68-70-75-72—285
Paul Azinger 73-68-68-77—286
Peter Fowler 73-68-71-74—286
Bernhard Langer 74-69-75-68—286
Colin Montgomerie 72-69-74-71—286
Mark O'Meara 70-69-73-74—286
Michael Allen 66-75-73-73—287
John Bland 71-72-72-72—287
Hale Irwin 72-68-75-72—287
Eduardo Romero 69-71-74-73—287
Michael Clayton 72-71-72-73—288
Blaine McCallister 71-68-75-74—288
Danny Mijovic 69-74-71-74—288
David Ray 71-69-73-75—288
Jim Rutledge 71-69-76-72—288
Anders Sorensen 70-68-71-79—288
Peter Baker 73-68-75-73—289
David Canipe 72-70-69-78—289
Roger Chapman 72-70-74-73—289
Jack Nicklaus 71-70-77-71—289
Martin Poxon 68-72-74-75—289
Jorge Berendt 75-66-72-77—290
David Feherty 74-69-71-76—290
Armando Saavedra 72-69-75-75—291
Malcolm Mackenzie 70-71-76-75—292
Jose Maria Canizares 72-70-78-76—296

Previous and next:
1989 British Open - 1991 British Open

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List