1986 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1986 PGA Championship was the 68th edition of the tournament. A famous, final-hole, hole-out produced the champion, and helped produce Greg Norman's image as a hard-luck loser.

Winner: Bob Tway, 276

Where it was played: Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio

Tournament dates: August 7-11, 1986

Leader after first round: Greg Norman, 65

Leader after second round: Greg Norman, 133

Leader after third round: Greg Norman, 202

What Happened at the 1986 PGA Championship

The year of 1986 was a great one for Greg Norman in one way, and very disappointing in another. The good news: He won the 1986 British Open. The bad news: He held the third-round leads at The Masters, U.S. Open and at this PGA Championship, but didn't win any of those.

At the 1986 PGA Championship, Norman started the final round with a 4-stroke lead over Bob Tway, a lead built on the strength of a first-round 65 followed by rounds of 68 and 69. But The tournament is best-remembered for what happened on the final hole: Tway blasted out from a greenside bunker and the ball disappeared into the cup for a hole-out birdie. That birdie gave Tway the win.

Tway was nine strokes behind Norman after 36 holes. But in the third round, Tway fired a 64, which tied the tournament record at the time for lowest third-round score. That moved him into second place, four behind Norman. And Tway was still four behind Norman after the first nine holes of the final round. But Norman made a double bogey on the 11th and a bogey on the 14th. Tway and Norman were tied at that point, and remained so until Tway's last-hole hole-out. In that final round, Tway shot 70 to Norman's 76.

Tway was in his second season on the PGA Tour, and what a sophomore season it was. He won four times, the PGA title being the last of those four. Tway won only four more times over the course of his long PGA Tour career. But his hole-out bunker shot here still makes highlight reels (especially his leaping-for-joy reaction), and he holds the distinction of being the first player in the PGA Championship's stroke-play era to birdie the tournament's 72nd hole for the win.

Norman's achievement of leading all four majors after three rounds has come to be known as the "Saturday Slam." Norman had two other wins on the PGA Tour (in addition to his Open Championship victory) in 1986, and led the Tour in money. It was Tway, however, who was named PGA Player of the Year.

Davis Love III, who went on to win the 1997 PGA Championship, played in his very first major championship here. He made the cut and finished tied for 47th place.

1986 PGA Championship Final Scores

Bob Tway 72-70-64-70—276
Greg Norman 65-68-69-76—278
Peter Jacobsen 68-70-70-71—279
D.A. Weibring 71-72-68-69—280
Bruce Lietzke 69-71-70-71—281
Payne Stewart 70-67-72-72—281
Jim Thorpe 71-67-73-71—282
Mike Hulbert 69-68-74-71—282
David Graham 75-69-71-67—282
Doug Tewell 73-71-68-71—283
Ben Crenshaw 72-73-72-67—284
Lonnie Nielsen 73-69-72-70—284
Lee Trevino 71-74-69-70—284
Donnie Hammond 70-71-68-75—284
Lanny Wadkins 71-75-70-68—284
Tom Watson 72-69-72-72—285
Tony Sills 71-72-69-73—285
Chip Beck 71-73-71-70—285
Don Pooley 71-74-69-71—285
Jack Nicklaus 70-68-72-75—285
Corey Pavin 71-72-70-73—286
Hal Sutton 73-71-70-72—286
Ronnie Black 68-71-74-73—286
David Frost 70-73-68-75—286
Wayne Grady 68-76-71-71—286
Ken Green 71-72-71-73—287
Tom Kite 72-73-71-71—287
Dan Pohl 71-71-74-71—287
Hale Irwin 76-70-73-68—287
Craig Stadler 67-74-73-74—288
Calvin Peete 72-73-69-74—288
Ian Woosnam 72-70-75-71—288
Wayne Levi 68-73-71-76—288
Gene Sauers 69-73-70-76—288
Jeff Sluman 70-71-76-71—288
Brett Upper 71-73-72-73—289
Buddy Gardner 72-73-71-73—289
Isao Aoki 73-69-74-73—289
Fred Couples 69-73-72-75—289
Mark Lye 72-71-70-76—289
Jodie Mudd 72-73-73-72—290
Scott Simpson 70-70-75-75—290
Scott Hoch 72-70-75-73—290
Hubert Green 75-70-74-71—290
Mike Reid 71-73-70-76—290
Bobby Wadkins 69-74-70-77—290
Dave Barr 71-73-73-74—291
Roger Maltbie 73-70-74-74—291
Mike Donald 74-69-73-75—291
Tommy Nakajima 71-73-71-76—291
Davis Love III 70-72-72-77—291
Mark Wiebe 75-67-72-77—291
Mike Sullivan 72-73-74-73—292
Joey Sindelar 74-72-73-73—292
Bob Gilder 69-75-73-75—292
Dave Stockton 70-75-74-73—292
John Cook 71-72-75-74—292
Larry Mize 69-76-75-72—292
Clarence Rose 73-71-72-76—292
Andy Bean 74-70-72-76—292
Steve Pate 76-69-71-76—292
Jay Haas 69-77-74-72—292
Phil Blackmar 67-73-79-73—292
Mark McCumber 71-74-68-79—292
James Blair 72-74-72-75—293
Gary Koch 68-77-74-75—294
Lennie Clements 71-75-72-77—295
David Edwards 72-69-76-79—296
Bob Murphy 73-73-74-77—297
Ken Brown 73-73-72-80—298
Denis Watson 71-74-77-77—299
J.C. Snead 70-76-75-79—300

Previous and next:
1985 PGA Championship - 1987 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog